book cover of The Wren Hunt

The Wren Hunt

(2018)
(The first book in the Wren Hunt series)
A novel by

 
 
Thrilling, atmospheric, and filled with ancient magic, this lyrically written YA debut is perfect for readers of The Raven Cycle and Wink Poppy Midnight.

Once a year, Wren is chased through the woods near her rural Ireland hometown in a warped version of a childhood game. Her pursuers belong to the judges, a group in control of an ancient, powerful magic they stole from her own people, the augurs . . . but they know nothing of her real identity. If they learned the truth, the game would surely turn deadly.

Though she knows the risks, Wren also goes on the hunt, taking a dangerous undercover assignment as an intern at enemy headquarters, the Harkness Foundation. If she can uncover a long-buried secret, she can save her family and end the judges' reign once and for all.

But as the web of lies, deceit, and betrayal thickens around Wren, she hurtles toward a truth that threatens to consume her and reveal who she really is. Not only has she come to the attention of powerful judge Cassa Harkness, but she is also falling dangerously in love with the one person she shouldn't. And she may need to decide which she'd rather lose, her heart or her life.
This spellbinding YA debut from Mary Watson is part thriller, part love story and entirely captivating.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A beautiful mix of myth and magic and discovering the path you want to tread." - Karen Gregory

"The most superb collection of character and fantasy and love and landscape I have read since Phillip Pullman's Northern Lights." - Hilary McKay

"[I have] fallen under the spell of The Wren Hunt, a beautifully written story and unlike anything I have read ... Magical and real." - Jenny McLachlan

"Beautiful, eerie, dark and dreamy." - Melinda Salisbury

"The Wren Hunt rings with ancient, subtle magic, masterfully transmuted into words. A tale that gets into your bones." - Samantha Shannon

"Folklore, secrets, betrayal, magic, forbidden love and dark discoveries. Eerie, atmospheric, seductive and completely captivating." - Katherine Webber


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The City of Brass
(Daevabad Trilogy, book 1)
S A Chakraborty
thumb
Serpent & Dove
(Serpent & Dove Duology, book 1)
Shelby Mahurin
thumb
Stalking Jack the Ripper
(Stalking Jack the Ripper, book 1)
Kerri Maniscalco

Used availability for Mary Watson's The Wren Hunt

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
ISBN: 1-68119-859-2 / 978-1-68119-859-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
ISBN: 1-5476-0249-X / 978-1-5476-0249-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Ya
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
ISBN: 1-5266-0625-9 / 978-1-5266-0625-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
ISBN: 1-4088-8493-3 / 978-1-4088-8493-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
ISBN: 1-72134-061-0 / 978-1-72134-061-3
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


February 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author(s): Mary Watson
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU