Hank Ryan's picture
Followed by 5 of our members

Hank Phillippi Ryan


USA flag

aka Anna Ryan

Hank Phillippi Ryan is the on-air investigative reporter for Boston's NBC affiliate. She's won 30 EMMYs, 12 Edward R. Murrow awards and dozens of other honors for her ground-breaking journalism. A bestselling author of mystery novels, Ryan has won multiple prestigious awards for her crime fiction. She's on the national board of Mystery Writers of America and 2013 president of national Sisters in Crime.

Genres: Mystery
 
Series
Charlotte McNally Mystery
1. Prime Time (2007)
2. Face Time (2007)
3. Air Time (2009)
4. Drive Time (2010)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumb
 
Novels
thumbthumb
 
Novellas
thumb
 
Anthologies edited
thumb
 
Awards
Agatha Award Best First Novel winner (2007) : Prime Time
Rita Awards Best First Book nominee (2008) : Prime Time
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (2009) : Air Time
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (2010) : Drive Time
Anthony Awards Best Paperback original nominee (2010) : Air Time
Anthony Awards Best Paperback original nominee (2011) : Drive Time
Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (2012) : The Other Woman
Agatha Award Best Novel winner (2013) : The Wrong Girl
Anthony Awards Best Novel nominee (2013) : The Other Woman
Edgar Awards Mary Higgins Clark winner (2013) : The Other Woman
Agatha Award Best Novel winner (2014) : Truth Be Told
Agatha Award Best Contemporary Novel winner (2014) : Truth Be Told
Anthony Awards Best Novel nominee (2014) : The Wrong Girl
Agatha Award Best Contemporary Novel nominee (2015) : What You See
Anthony Awards Best Novel nominee (2015) : Truth Be Told
Agatha Award Best Contemporary Novel nominee (2016) : Say No More
Anthony Awards Best Novel nominee (2016) : What You See


Hank Phillippi Ryan recommends
thumb
Optical Delusions in Deadwood (2011)
(Deadwood Mystery, book 2)
Ann Charles
"Hilarious, original, and genuinely wonderful. This fresh and feisty mystery will instantly win your heart."
thumb
Ice Shear (2014)
(June Lyons, book 1)
M P Cooley
"Captivating, original and brilliant. Seamlessly natural - ICE SHEAR shines with the remarkable confidence and authority of true talent."
thumb
This Is Not Over (2016)
Holly Brown
"Intelligently crafted and rivetingly dark, this chilling tale of two women waging psychological warfare will hook you, capture you, and keep you reading as fast as you can."
thumb
Pacific Homicide (2016)
(Detective Davie Richards, book 1)
Patricia Smiley
"[A] suspenseful, riveting thriller."
thumb
Flamingo Road (2017)
(Fia McKee, book 1)
Sasscer Hill
"Fast paced, suspenseful, and cleverly plotted."
thumb
Protocol (2017)
(Maggie O'Malley Mystery, book 1)
Kathleen Valenti
"A page-turner! Smart, fast-paced and surprising."
thumb
Bosstown (2017)
Adam Abramowitz
"Robert B. Parker meets Hunter S. Thompson... and the result is a jet-fueled crazy-good mystery that careens through Boston with a voice that won't quit--and winds up in a place no one could ever predict. Wildly unique, this brave new take on a traditional genre is captivating, hilarious, and darkly brilliant."
thumb
Gone to Dust (2017)
(Nils Shapiro, book 1)
Matt Goldman
"Gotta love it: Spade, Spenser, and now Shapiro. The brilliant Matt Goldman has written the perfect PI novel--smart, spare, sarcastic, and completely heartbreaking."
thumb
Idyll Fears (2017)
(Thomas Lynch, book 2)
Stephanie Gayle
"Smart, spare, and insightful, this compelling procedural has it all: a uniquely endearing main character, realistic dialogue, a surprising and twisty story, and, above all, the talented and stylish storytelling of a confident and sure-handed new voice in crime fiction. Could not put it down!"
thumb
The Deep Dark Descending (2017)
Allen Eskens
"The talented Allen Eskens fulfills the rich promise of his Edgar(R)-nominated debut with this chilling, dark, and sinister thriller. With precision and authority, Eskens's determined cop hero takes one intriguing clue--and pursues it into spiraling disaster. With a deadly surprise around every corner and a bleak undercurrent of noir-like dread, this book will haunt you."
thumb
Glimpse (2018)
Jonathan Maberry
"So scary I wished I could close my eyes as I read it--but I didn't want to miss a word. The brilliant Jonathan Maberry--evocative, chilling and somehow terrifyingly knowledgeable about the dark necessities of the human heart--will grab you by the throat and not let go. Fair warning--leave the lights on."
thumb
Yesterday's News (2018)
(Clare Carlson Mystery, book 1)
R G Belsky
"What a terrific book! A complex and compelling non-stop cat-and-mouse chase--and you're never quite sure which one's the mouse. Even the savviest of readers will be gasping in awe at Belsky's impressive story-telling skills."
thumb
The Darkest Time of Night (2018)
Jeremy Finley
"The X-Files meets The Good Wife. With a twisty surprise on every page, this seamlessly written and captivating thriller is edgy, unique and incredibly thought-provoking. Jeremy Finley is a star."
thumb
The Disappearing (2018)
Lori Roy
"Lori Roy is an impeccable writer—original, fearless, and insightful. The Disappearing, with its dark secrets and damaged souls, is another triumph of Roy’s skill: it’s insidiously sinister, seamlessly plotted, and relentlessly haunting."
thumb
In the Vines (2018)
Shannon Kirk
"Only the crazy-brilliant mind of the super-talented Shannon Kirk could channel Stephen King and Edgar Allen Poe—and create this unique and contemporary horror-mystery-love story. Only a skilled writer like Kirk could dive into the dark madness of the mind and soul—and come up with this chilling tale of broken hearts and desperately twisted love."
thumb
A Borrowing of Bones (2018)
Paula Munier
"This is why we read crime fiction! The immensely talented Paula Munier had me at page one with indelibly drawn characters in a heartbreaking, compelling and incredibly intelligent story. Plus, the greatest dogs on the planet. Fans of William Kent Krueger and C.J. Box will devour this terrific book."
thumb
When You Find Me (2018)
P J Vernon
"Chilling, original, and incredibly unsettling . . . You will not be able to stop reading."
thumb
You Were Always Mine (2018)
Nicole Baart
"Original, chilling, and frighteningly realistic. With a mother we adore and children we root for, this sinister and heartbreaking family drama will have you turning pages as fast as you can. Clear your schedule and prepare to be wowed!"
thumb
Forget You Know Me (2019)
Jessica Strawser
"Sinister, sophisticated, and teeming with secrets...completely irresistible."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors