book cover of Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder
Added by 58 of our members

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder

(2020)
(The first book in the Marion Lane series)
A novel by

 
 
'The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight' Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

They were a band of mysterious private detectives who lived beneath the streets of London in a labyrinth of twisted tunnels and ancient hallways, the entrance to which no one had ever found...

London, 1958:

Elaborately disguised and hidden deep beneath the city's streets lies the world of Miss Brickett's, a secret detective agency. From traversing deceptive escape rooms full of baited traps and hidden dangers, to engineering almost magical mechanical gadgets, apprentice detectives at Miss Brickett's undergo rigorous training to equip them with the skills and knowledge they will need to solve the mysteries that confound London's police force.

But nothing can prepare 23-year-old apprentice Marion Lane for what happens after the arrest of her friend and mentor, Frank, on suspicion of murder: he tasks Marion with clearing his name and saving his life. Her investigation will place Marion and her friends in great peril as they venture into the forbidden maze of uncharted tunnels that surround Miss Brickett's. Being discovered out of bounds means immediate dismissal, but that is the least of Marion's problems when she discovered that the tunnels contain more than just secrets...

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder is the first installation in a fantastical historical mystery series for fans of Stuart Turton's The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and Natasha Pulley's The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Crackles with invention and surprise-the wondrous gadgetry, the moody settings, the endearing heroine and the struggles she's endured-and Willberg weaves it all together around a perfectly puzzling locked-room whodunnit." - Matthew Sullivan

"The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight, the worldbuilding is wonderful, and the mystery got its hooks into me from the first chapter." - Stuart Turton

"A tantalizing, steampunk-flavored mystery... Delicious fun!" - Helene Wecker


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for T A Willberg's Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder

Hardback Editions

May 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 1-4091-9663-1 / 978-1-4091-9663-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2021 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 1-4328-8768-8 / 978-1-4328-8768-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : Canada Hardback
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: A Novel
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 0-7783-8933-2 / 978-0-7783-8933-0 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Park Row
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 1-4091-9665-8 / 978-1-4091-9665-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2022 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 0-7783-1191-0 / 978-0-7783-1191-1 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Park Row
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 1-4091-9664-X / 978-1-4091-9664-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery
Author(s): T A Willberg
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon   


May 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery
Author(s): T A Willberg
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery
Author(s): T A Willberg
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Inquirers
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 1-79993-579-5 / 978-1-79993-579-7
Publisher: Harlequin Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 1-79993-580-9 / 978-1-79993-580-3
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: Library Edition
Author(s): T A Willberg
ISBN: 1-79993-578-7 / 978-1-79993-578-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: A Novel
Author(s): T A Willberg
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: A Novel
Author(s): T A Willberg
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery
Author(s): T A Willberg
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: A Novel
Author(s): T A Willberg
Publisher: Park Row
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA