book cover of The Yield
Added by 2 of our members

The Yield

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award! 

"A beautifully written novel that puts language at the heart of remembering the past and understanding the present."—Kate Morton

“A groundbreaking novel for black and white Australia.”—Richard Flanagan, Man Booker Prize winning author of The Narrow Road to the Deep North

A young Australian woman searches for her grandfather's dictionary, the key to halting a mining company from destroying her family's home and ancestral land in this exquisitely written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful novel of culture, language, tradition, suffering, and empowerment in the tradition of Louise Erdrich, Sandra Cisneros, and Amy Harmon. 

Knowing that he will soon die, Albert “Poppy” Gondiwindi has one final task he must fulfill. A member of the indigenous Wiradjuri tribe, he has spent his adult life in Prosperous House and the town of Massacre Plains, a small enclave on the banks of the Murrumby River. Before he takes his last breath, Poppy is determined to pass on the language of his people, the traditions of his ancestors, and everything that was ever remembered by those who came before him. The land itself aids him; he finds the words on the wind.

After his passing, Poppy’s granddaughter, August, returns home from Europe, where she has lived the past ten years, to attend his burial. Her overwhelming grief is compounded by the pain, anger, and sadness of memory—of growing up in poverty before her mother’s incarceration, of the racism she and her people endured, of the mysterious disappearance of her sister when they were children; an event that has haunted her and changed her life. Her homecoming is bittersweet as she confronts the love of her kin and news that Prosperous is to be repossessed by a mining company. Determined to make amends and honor Poppy and her family, she vows to save their land—a quest guided by the voice of her grandfather that leads into the past, the stories of her people, the secrets of the river.

Told in three masterfully woven narratives, The Yield is a celebration of language and an exploration of what makes a place "home." A story of a people and a culture dispossessed, it is also a joyful reminder of what once was and what endures—a powerful reclaiming of Indigenous language, storytelling, and identity, that offers hope for the future.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"A groundbreaking novel for black and white Australia." - Richard Flanagan

"Mesmerising and important." - Melissa Lucashenko

"A beautifully written novel that puts language at the heart of remembering the past and understanding the present." - Kate Morton


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tara June Winch's The Yield

Hardback Editions

January 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-00-843707-6 / 978-0-00-843707-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVia
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : Hardback
thumb

Title: The Yield Hardcover 21 Jan 2021
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: Generic
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Yield: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-06-300346-5 / 978-0-06-300346-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperVia
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-00-843711-4 / 978-0-00-843711-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVia
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Yield: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-06-300347-3 / 978-0-06-300347-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperVia
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-00-843708-4 / 978-0-00-843708-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Yield Unabridged POD: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-06-300350-3 / 978-0-06-300350-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Yield (16pt Large Print Edition)
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-369-36206-3 / 978-0-369-36206-3
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant
Availability: Amazon   


Audio Editions

January 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Yield: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 1-09-416004-0 / 978-1-09-416004-7
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Yield: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 1-09-416005-9 / 978-1-09-416005-4
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Yield: Library Edition
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 1-09-416003-2 / 978-1-09-416003-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Yield: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Yield: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-655-61010-3 / 978-0-655-61010-6
Publisher: Bolinda/Penguin Audio Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
ISBN: 0-655-61011-1 / 978-0-655-61011-3
Publisher: Bolinda/Penguin Audio Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Yield
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: HarperVia
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Yield: A Novel
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: HarperVia
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Yield: Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award
Author(s): Tara June Winch
Publisher: Penguin eBooks
Availability: Amazon AU