Richard Flanagan's picture

Richard Flanagan

Australia (b.1961)

Richard Flanagan is an author, historian and film director from Tasmania, Australia. He was president of the Tasmania University Union and a Rhodes Scholar. Each of his novels has attracted major praise. His first, Death of a River Guide (1994), was short-listed for the Miles Franklin Award, as were his next two, The Sound of One Hand Clapping (1997) and Gould's Book of Fish (2001). His earlier, non-fiction titles include books about the Gordon River, student issues, and the story of conman John Friedrich.
Two of his novels are set on the West Coast of Tasmania; where he lived in the township of Rosebery as a child. Death of a River Guide relates to the Franklin River, Gould's Book of Fish to the Macquarie Harbour Penal Station, and The Sound of One Hand Clapping to the Hydro settlements in the Central Highlands of Tasmania.

Genres: Literary Fiction
New and upcoming books
May 2024

Question 7
Non fiction
   Notes on an Exodus (2016)
   The Australian Disease (2022)
   Question 7 (2024)
no image availablethumbthumb

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors