Ursula Moray Williams

Ursula Moray Williams wrote and illustrated over 70 children's books in her lifetime. Born in 1911, she was one of identical twins, both of whom started to write and illustrate their own books at a young age. After spending time in France, Ursula's first book Jean Pierre was published when she was just twenty. Set in the Haute-Savoie region which she knew so well, it followed the adventures of a small boy and his pet goat. Moray Williams wrote her most famous story, The Adventures of the Little Wooden Horse, in 1938, in which a little toy horse is separated from his toymaker uncle' and must endure many dangerous adventures before finally finding a happy ending. A few years later in, 1942, she went on to write Gobbolino, the Witch's Cat, which soon became a firm favourite with children. Her books have been illustrated by Edward Ardizzone and Shirley Hughes, among others.

Genres: Inspirational
   Jean-Pierre (1931)
   Kelpie, The Gypsies' Pony (1934)
   Adventures of Anne (1935)
   Anders & Marta (1935)
   Sandy-on-the-shore (1936)
   The Twins and Their Ponies (1936)
   Dumpling (1937)
   Elaine of La Signe (1937)
   The Adventures of the Little Wooden Horse (1938)
   Adventures of Puffin (1939)
   Peter and the Wanderlust (1939)
     aka Peter on the road
   A Castle For John-Peter (1941)
   The Good Little Christmas Tree (1942)
   The Three Toymakers (1945)
   Malkin's Mountain (1948)
   The Story of Laughing Dandino (1948)
   The Binklebys At Home (1951)
   Jockin the Jester (1951)
   The Binkleby's On The Farm (1953)
   Grumpa (1955)
   The Secrets of the Wood (1955)
   Goodbody's Puppet Show (1956)
   Golden Horse with a Silver Tail (1957)
   Hobbie (1958)
   The Moonball (1958)
   The Nine Lives of Island Mackenzie (1959)
   The Noble Hawks (1959)
     aka The Earls Falconer
   Beware of This Animal (1963)
   Johnnie Tigerskin (1964)
   O for a Mouseless House (1964)
   Gobbolino The Witch's Cat (1965)
   High Adventure (1965)
   The Cruise of the Happy-Go-Gay (1967)
   A Crown for a Queen (1968)
   The Toymaker's Daughter (1968)
   Mog (1969)
   Boy In A Barn (1970)
   Castle Merlin (1972)
   Tiger Nanny (1973)
   The Line (1974)
   No Ponies for Miss Pobjoy (1975)
   Bogwoppit (1976)
   Jeffy, the Burglar's Cat (1981)
   Bellabelinda and the No-good Angel (1982)
   Spid (1985)
   Grandma and the Ghowlies (1986)
   Paddy On the Island (1987)
thumbthumbno image availableno image available
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbno image availableno image available
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
thumbno image availablethumbno image available
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
   For Brownies (1932)
   Grandfather (poems) (1933)
thumbno image available
no image availablethumb
Picture Books