book cover of Halcyon
Added by 3 of our members

Halcyon

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Nightmarishly compelling and flawlessly told horror for fans of Paul Tremblay and Joe Hill.
Halcyon is the answer for all Americans who want to escape, but paradise isn't what it seems. A beautiful self-sustaining community made up of people who want to live without fear, crime, or greed, Halcyon is run by Valerie Kemp, aka Mother Moon, benevolent and altruistic on the outside, but hiding an unimaginable darkness inside. She has dedicated her life to the pursuit of Glam Moon, a place of eternal beauty and healing. And she believes the pathway there can only be found at the end of pleasure.
On the heels of tragedy, Martin Lovegrove moves his family to Halcyon. A couple of months, he tells himself, to retreat from the chaos and grind. He soon begins to suspect there is something beneath Halcyon's perfect veneer and sets out to discover the truth, however terrible it might be, behind the island and its mysterious founder.

Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"Rich, multilayered and compulsively readable, Halcyon is a ferocious yet thoughtful and very timely take on our need to believe in a better place." - Michael Marshall

"I'm warning you: stay away from Halcyon if you have a pressing deadline, children that must be fed, dogs that need to be walked. Because it will own you completely and gobble up all your time and focus with its spellbinding sentences, vividly realized characters, furious pacing, and skin-crawling chills. Rio Youers is a master." - Benjamin Percy

"A prescient exploration of domestic terrorism and the fears that currently grip ordinary people worldwide, Halcyon is a slick, page-turning thriller that establishes Rio Youers as an author with something to say. Ominous and yet somehow full of hope, Halcyon shows that Youers is a Koontz or King for a new generation." - Sarah Pinborough

"Rio Youers deftly mixes family drama, ESP, politics, and the collective insanity of cults into a heady cultural critique that also functions as a page-turning, white-knuckle thriller. Halcyon is a tornado of a novel." - Paul Tremblay


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Black Mountain
(Isaiah Coleridge, book 2)
Laird Barron

Used availability for Rio Youers's Halcyon

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Halcyon: A Thriller
Author(s): Rio Youers
ISBN: 1-250-07241-7 / 978-1-250-07241-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Halcyon
Author(s): Rio Youers
ISBN: 1-78565-982-0 / 978-1-78565-982-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Halcyon
Author(s): Rio Youers
ISBN: 1-5436-1871-5 / 978-1-5436-1871-6
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Halcyon: A Thriller
Author(s): Rio Youers
ISBN: 1-5436-1873-1 / 978-1-5436-1873-0
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Halcyon: A Thriller
Author(s): Rio Youers
ISBN: 1-5436-1872-3 / 978-1-5436-1872-3
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Halcyon: A Thriller
Author(s): Rio Youers
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Halcyon: A Thriller
Author(s): Rio Youers
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Halcyon
Author(s): Rio Youers
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Halcyon: A Thriller
Author(s): Rio Youers
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA