Andre Aciman's picture

André Aciman


Egypt (b.1951)

André Aciman (born in Alexandria, Egypt) is an American novelist, essayist, memoirist, and leading scholar of the works of Marcel Proust. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Review of Books, The New York Times, The Paris Review, as well as in several volumes of The Best American Essays. Aciman is the author of the Whiting Award winning memoir Out of Egypt, an account of his childhood as a secular Jew growing up in Egypt during the 1950s and 1960s. He holds a Ph.D. in comparative literature from Harvard University and currently teaches at the Graduate School and University Center of The City University of New York. He previously taught comparative literature at Princeton University, Bard College, and creative writing at New York University.
 
André Aciman recommends
thumb
The Innocents (2012)
Francesca Segal
"The Innocents is written with wisdom and deliciously subtle wit, in the tradition of Jane Austen and Nancy Mitford. Francesca Segal has a remarkable ability to bring characters vividly to life who are at once warm, funny, complex, and utterly recognizable. This is a wonderfully readable novel: elegant, accomplished and romantic."
thumb
The Little Clan (2018)
Iris Martin Cohen
"A brilliant newcomer whose prose races through the page but then knows exactly when to catch its breath to produce Jamesian inflections of unparalleled beauty. Iris Cohen is not only a talented writer; she is an artist. And the giveaway sign of every artist is to make both aspiring and established writers secretly envious."
thumb
The Parting Gift (2018)
Evan Fallenberg
"An unabashed tale that does not pull punches and looks at love's underside...This breathless story should only be read in one sitting. It hits hard and never lets up. Terse, brusque, etched on one's inner thigh with an old serrated knife."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors