New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Island in the East

Island in the East

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
The international Kindle best seller

With a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama, Island in the East is the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees.

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Singapore, 1897. Twenty-year-old identical twins Harriet and Mae, born from a scandalous affair, have spent their lives slighted by gossips. They've carried each other through the loneliness, believing that together they can survive anything. But then their mysterious benefactor sends them to Singapore to live with his relative, the watchful David Keeley, who will choose one of them to marry.

In the tension of David's house, a distance opens up between the twins, but it is only when they meet the handsome Alex Blake that their relationship truly fractures, resulting in a life-shattering betrayal with devastating consequences.

1941. Ivy, an intelligence officer with the women's naval service, is posted to wartime Singapore. Carrying her own ghosts from Blitz-torn London, she arrives to the looming threat of a Japanese invasion. Nothing can prepare her for what's waiting on the island - not the unexpected love nor the strangers from her grandmother Mae's past and the shocking secrets that now echo down through the generations.

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best.

Genre: Historical Romance    

Praise for this book

"Exotic and mysterious-I was gripped." - Dinah Jefferies


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jenny Ashcroft's Island in the East

Paperback Editions

July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
ISBN: 0-7515-6508-3 / 978-0-7515-6508-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
ISBN: 0-7515-6506-7 / 978-0-7515-6506-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2018 : UK Audio CD

Title: Island In The East
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
ISBN: 1-4079-7327-4 / 978-1-4079-7327-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Island in the East
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Island in the East
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Island in the East
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.
Author(s): Jenny Ashcroft
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK