book cover of The Rose Garden
Added by 29 of our members

The Rose Garden

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
The Rose Garden is a richly imagined historical novel full of intrigue and secrets, spanning the luxury and poverty of Victorian England. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Rachel Hore.

Every house has its secrets . . .

For twelve-year-old Ottilie Finch, London is an exciting playground to explore. Her family have recently arrived in Hamstead from Durham, under a cloud of scandal that Otty is blissfully unaware of. The only shadow over her days is her mother’s mysterious illness, which keeps her to her room.

When young local girl Mabs is offered the chance to become Mrs Finch’s companion, it saves her from a desperate life on the canals. Little does she know that all is not as picture-perfect as it seems. Mabs is about to become tangled in the secrets that chased the Finches from their last home, and trapped in an impossible dilemma . . .

‘Tracy Rees is a natural storyteller . . . What a treat it is!’ – Rachel Hore, author of A Gathering Storm.

'In this engrossing novel Tracy Rees takes the reader directly into the drama and action . . . the roles and attitudes to women at the end of the Victorian period and the emerging ‘women’s movement were riveting. Totally unputdownable.' – Dinah Jefferies, author of The Tea-Planter’s Wife.



Genre: Historical Romance

Praise for this book

"...gorgeously written, deeply atmospheric, tense and vivid and a total page-turner." - Jenny Ashcroft

"The Rose Garden is full of heart and a rich, lively cast of characters who transport the reader straight into its Victorian world. Gorgeous." - Eve Chase

"It’s so wonderful, so poignant and oh, the history. I loved delving into these women’s lives, their loves, their individual and very different and difficult plights. It’s eye opening and entertaining and moving all at the same time. Bravo to Tracy. I can’t wait to see this book fly." - Lorna Cook

"Such a treat ... I loved Tracy’s elegant writing and the vivid and relatable characters, and historically-rich story...wonderful and uplifting." - Nicola Cornick

"A rich, compelling and intricate tapestry of women’s lives . . . their wants, needs and dreams through the characters diverse lives. I couldn’t put it down." - Liz Fenwick

"Beautifully written and vividly imagined, The Rose Garden strikes the perfect balance between period drama to savour and compelling escapism to devour. Tracy Rees has such a talent for writing engaging characters who stay with you. I loved it!" - Hazel Gaynor

"The Rose Garden is an absolute delight to read and holds you spellbound from cover to cover. Full of wonderful characters woven into a story that tugs at your heartstrings, this is a truly beautiful novel that confirms Tracy Rees is at the height of her game." - Rebecca Griffiths

"A warm, original and upbeat novel. Tracy Rees is a natural storyteller and I couldn’t stop turning the pages. I loved the setting of Victorian Hampstead and its vivid range of characters. What a treat it is!" - Rachel Hore

"Tracy Rees writes from the heart." - Kathryn Hughes

"In this engrossing novel Tracy Rees takes the reader directly into the drama and action, her writing bringing every scene to sparkling vivid life. The rich use of language meant I was fully immersed in the Victorian world of the main women protagonists and didn’t want to leave. Written with empathy and revealing differing sides to even more minor characters, the roles and attitudes to women at the end of the Victorian period and the emerging ‘women’s movement were riveting. Totally unputdownable." - Dinah Jefferies

"The Rose Garden is a joy. Through its cast of memorable female characters, this novel sets the fight for justice against all the colour and optimism which is so characteristic of Tracy Rees' writing." - Rebecca F John

"A truly captivating tale of female friendship, courage and empowerment, all wrapped up in the wonderful escapism of an exquisite period drama." - Samantha King

"I absolutely loved it. With its compelling themes of female friendship and empowerment against all odds, The Rose Garden is a fascinating and compassionate story. The settings of well-to-do Hampstead and the poverty of Saffron Hill in Victorian England are both vividly evoked and the main characters of Mabs, Abigail, Ottilie and Olive are warm, authentic and engaging. I was completely immersed in the world of The Rose Garden from beginning to end." - Rosanna Ley

"Tracy Rees has a rare gift for creating characters you are rooting for from the first page. The writing is fresh and engaging, with a gentle humour...the research is meticulous, and the women’s stories are told with immense compassion. This is a novel that immerses you in its world as if by magic, and keeps you enthralled till the very end." - Gill Paul

"The Rose Garden is an absolute joy. I was completely swept up in the lives of Olive, Otty, Mabs and Abigail. Against the backdrop of Victorian London, their story is one of friendship against the odds and of courage that transcends the rules of a flawed society. Written with elegance, charm and wisdom, this book is both unputdownable and unforgettable." - Hazel Prior

"A rich historical drama that is both a subtle study of the treatment of women and an entertaining escape. Pure joy." - Jo Spain

"Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down." - Karen Swan

"I simply loved The Rose Garden. The setting of Victorian London has a Dickensian feel but, unlike Dickens, Tracy Rees peoples her city with a compelling cast of women characters battling poverty, class and gender inequality. The voice of poor but sparky Mabs will remain with me for a long time - she is a terrific creation." - Liz Trenow


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tracy Rees's The Rose Garden

Paperback Editions

September 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
ISBN: 1-5290-4637-8 / 978-1-5290-4637-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
ISBN: 1-5290-9146-2 / 978-1-5290-9146-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2021 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
ISBN: 1-5290-8283-8 / 978-1-5290-8283-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   


September 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2021 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2021 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rose Garden
Author(s): Tracy Rees
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA