book cover of Onyx and Ivory
Added by 25 members
 

Onyx and Ivory

(2018)
(The first book in the Rime Chronicles series)
A novel by

 
 
“At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance.” —Susan Dennard, New York Times bestselling author of Truthwitch

Acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts readers into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch.

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime.

Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals.

And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight—the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death.

With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.



Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance." - Susan Dennard

"Kate is a hero for the ages, and I was utterly swept away in her story, aching for her trials and rooting for every victory. This hero has heart and soul that will linger long after you close this book. A triumphant adventure with so much heart." - Natalie D Richards

"The world of Rime is complex and layered, the cast of characters just as real as they are magical. Everything about this story is fearless. Be warned: This is the kind of book that swallows you whole." - Kristen Simmons


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Mindee Arnett's Onyx and Ivory


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors