book cover of Onyx and Ivory
Added by 14 of our members

Onyx and Ivory

(2018)
(The first book in the Rime Chronicles series)
A novel by

 
 
Acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts listeners into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch.

They call her Traitor Kate. It's a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime.

Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes - deadly flightless dragons - come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals.

And it's this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight - the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death.

With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance." - Susan Dennard

"Kate is a hero for the ages, and I was utterly swept away in her story, aching for her trials and rooting for every victory. This hero has heart and soul that will linger long after you close this book. A triumphant adventure with so much heart." - Natalie D Richards

"The world of Rime is complex and layered, the cast of characters just as real as they are magical. Everything about this story is fearless. Be warned: This is the kind of book that swallows you whole." - Kristen Simmons


Similar books by other authors

thumb
An Ember in the Ashes
(Ember in the Ashes, book 1)
Sabaa Tahir
thumb
Serpent & Dove
(Serpent & Dove Duology, book 1)
Shelby Mahurin
thumb
The Cruel Prince
(Folk of the Air, book 1)
Holly Black
thumb
The Wicked King
(Folk of the Air, book 2)
Holly Black

Used availability for Mindee Arnett's Onyx and Ivory

Hardback Editions

May 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
ISBN: 0-06-265266-4 / 978-0-06-265266-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
ISBN: 0-06-265267-2 / 978-0-06-265267-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory: Library Edition (The Rime Chronicles)
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
ISBN: 1-5385-0003-5 / 978-1-5385-0003-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Onyx and Ivory (Rime Chronicles, 1)
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
ISBN: 1-5385-0005-1 / 978-1-5385-0005-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Onyx and Ivory (The Rime Chronicles)
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
ISBN: 1-5385-0004-3 / 978-1-5385-0004-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Onyx & Ivory
Author(s): Mindee Arnett
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU