book cover of The Leviathan
Added by 24 of our members
 

The Leviathan

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

SELECTED AS ONE OF THE OBSERVER'S 10 BEST DEBUT NOVELISTS OF 2022

'It's hard to believe that such an accomplished novel could be a debut - The Leviathan is a gloriously dark story that sweeps you along to its harrowing yet satisfying conclusion. Superb' Susan Stokes-Chapman, number one bestselling author of Pandora

'Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere... bewitching' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS

A beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.

SHE IS AWAKE...

Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft.

Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.

Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things.

'Outstanding... a seething, haunting delight' Beth Underdown, award-winning author of THE WITCHFINDER'S SISTER

'Thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing' Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE


Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Chilling and beguiling, The Leviathan is a novel to be devoured greedily. Vivid and original, I was utterly captivated from the first page until the last." - Joanne Burn

"This debut oozes quality. I wanted to savour the incredible language, by turns lyrical and earthy, and the beautifully researched historical detail ... The Leviathan is a sumptuous treat that positively thrums with tension. A story that does not shy away from questions of religion, personal choice and responsibility, good versus evil ... Great to read at any time, but especially when the night is dark with howling wind and lashing rain. I absolutely loved it." - Lianne Dillsworth

"A confident and accomplished debut, which skilfully blends historical detail, myth, faith and the fantastic into a dark and compelling story of huge imagination." - Anita Frank

"Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere, The Leviathan is a bewitching tale of good, evil and all the shades in-between." - Stacey Halls

"An original and compelling page-turner, beautifully told." - Annie Kirby

"Infused with creepy gothic dread and gorgeously written. Fantastic." - Amy McCulloch

"The Leviathan is a haunting, thrilling debut as strange and slippery as the mythical beast itself: at once a supernatural adventure that writhes and twists as you turn the pages but also a very human story about love, loss and faith in the unnerving time of the Civil War. A monster achievement." - Miranda Malins

"Spectacular - deliciously creepy, immensely atmospheric and exquisitely written. Rosie Andrews in a phenomenal new voice in historical fiction." - Lizzie Pook

"A sinister, twisting tale, thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing." - Jennifer Saint

"It's hard to believe that such an accomplished novel could be a debut - The Leviathan is a gloriously dark story that sweeps you along to its harrowing yet satisfying conclusion. Superb." - Susan Stokes-Chapman

"An outstanding historical debut, which blends emotional resonance with the chill factor of an M R James story. Utterly compelling from start to finish, The Leviathan is a seething, haunting delight." - Beth Underdown


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rosie Andrews's The Leviathan

Hardback Editions

February 2022 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Leviathan: A beguiling and sinister tale of superstitition, myth and murder from a major new voice in historical fiction
Author(s): Rosie Andrews
ISBN: 1-5266-3733-2 / 978-1-5266-3733-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Raven Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2023 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: LEVIATHAN
Author(s): ANDREWS ROSIE
ISBN: 1-5266-3736-7 / 978-1-5266-3736-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: BLOOMSBURY PAPERBACKS
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Leviathan: A beguiling and sinister tale of superstitition, myth and murder from a major new voice in historical fiction
Author(s): Rosie Andrews
ISBN: 1-5266-3734-0 / 978-1-5266-3734-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Raven Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Leviathan
Author(s): Rosie Andrews
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

February 2022 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Leviathan: A beguiling and sinister tale of superstitition, myth and murder from a major new voice in historical fiction
Author(s): Rosie Andrews
Publisher: Raven Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU