New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Blood Crime

Blood Crime

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
A multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolano and Mario Vargas Llosa.

"Startling . . . Blood Crime (beautifully translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relano and Martha Tennent) has a sort of concentrated power that's rare in horror novels. It's akin to poetry." - The New York Times Book Review

It is 1936, and Barcelona burns as the Spanish Civil War takes over. The city is a bloodbath. Yet in all this death, the murders of a Marist monk and a young boy, drained of their blood, are strange enough to catch a police inspector's attention. His quest for justice is complicated by the politics, dangers, and espionage of daily life in a war zone. The Marist brothers of the murdered monk are being persecuted; meanwhile, a convent of Capuchin nuns hides in plain sight, trading favors with the military police to stay alive. In their midst is a thirteen-year-old novice who stumbles into the clutches of the murderer. Can she escape in this city of no happy endings?

Narrated by a vampire who thrives in the havoc of the war, this stunning novel, inspired by the true story of a massacre in the early days of the Spanish Civil War, is a gothic reflection on the nature of monsters, in all their human forms.

Genre: Mystery    

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Sebastia Alzamora's Blood Crime

Hardback Editions

May 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Blood Crime
Author(s): Sebastia Alzamora
ISBN: 1-61695-628-3 / 978-1-61695-628-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Blood Crime
Author(s): Sebastia Alzamora
ISBN: 1-61695-836-7 / 978-1-61695-836-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Blood Crime
Author(s): Sebastia Alzamora
Publisher: Soho Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA