New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of 

Blood Crime

Blood Crime

(2016)
A novel by

 
A multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolano and Mario Vargas Llosa.

"Startling... "Blood Crime" (beautifully translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relano and Martha Tennent) has a sort of concentrated power that's rare in horror novels. It's akin to poetry."
- The New York Times Book Review


It is 1936, and Barcelona burns as the Spanish Civil War takes over. The city is a bloodbath. Yet in all this death, the murders of a Marist monk and a young boy, drained of their blood, are strange enough to catch a police inspector's attention. His quest for justice is complicated by the politics, dangers, and espionage of daily life in a war zone. The Marist brothers of the murdered monk are being persecuted; meanwhile, a convent of Capuchin nuns hides in plain sight, trading favors with the military police to stay alive. In their midst is a thirteen-year-old novice who stumbles into the clutches of the murderer. Can she escape in this city of no happy endings?

Narrated by a vampire who thrives in the havoc of the war, this stunning novel, inspired by the true story of a massacre in the early days of the Spanish Civil War, is a gothic reflection on the nature of monsters, in all their human forms.

From the Hardcover edition.

Genre: Mystery
 
Used availability for Sebastia Alzamora's Blood Crime


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

May 2016 : USA Hardback
Title: Blood Crime
Author(s): Sebastia Alzamora
ISBN: 1-61695-628-3 / 978-1-61695-628-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

August 2017 : USA Paperback
Title: Blood Crime
Author(s): Sebastia Alzamora
ISBN: 1-61695-836-7 / 978-1-61695-836-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Blood Crime
Author(s): Sebastia Alzamora
Publisher: Soho Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for