book cover of The Wife
Added by 21 of our members

The Wife

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
His scandal

Her secret

From New York Times best-selling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10 - in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a best-selling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"An intriguing, twisty psychological thriller, The Wife had me tearing through the pages, never sure which characters to trust. Smart, suspenseful, and absolutely riveting." - Megan Miranda

"A subtly sneaky, emotionally complex, and utterly addictive novel of psychological suspense, The Wife delivers on all fronts. Burke always comes through with twisty plots and strong female characters, but she’s at the top of her game here." - Lisa Scottoline


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Alafair Burke's The Wife

Hardback Editions

January 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-239051-1 / 978-0-06-239051-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-239052-X / 978-0-06-239052-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wife
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-571-32819-9 / 978-0-571-32819-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wife
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-571-32818-0 / 978-0-571-32818-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-284431-8 / 978-0-06-284431-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 0-06-279203-2 / 978-0-06-279203-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 1-5384-8034-4 / 978-1-5384-8034-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Wife: Library Edition
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 1-5384-8033-6 / 978-1-5384-8033-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Author(s): Alafair Burke
ISBN: 1-5384-8035-2 / 978-1-5384-8035-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wife
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Author(s): Alafair Burke
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA