book cover of The Lost Night
Added by 3 of our members

The Lost Night

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
What really happened the night Edie died? Ten years later, her best friend Lindsay will learn just how unprepared she is for the truth. In 2009, in a loft complex in Bushwick, Edie is the shining star of a group of recent college graduates. Seductive, mercurial, and beguiling, Edie has the social world in her thrall, and she and her best friends treat New York like a playground. When she commits suicide at the end of a long, drunken night, no one can quite believe it. But an overwhelming mix of grief, shock, and long-standing resentment force each friend into their own corner, and, for years, that's where they stay. A decade later, Lindsay is content with her life and has come a long way from the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts. She has a thriving career in magazines, lives in a cosy apartment, and has true adult friendships. But when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that terrible, hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered--and, worse perhaps, if she herself was involved. As she rifles through those months in 2009--combing through case files, old technology, and her fractured memory--Lindsay is forced to confront the demons of her own violent history to bring the truth to light.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"If The Girl on the Train had been a Brooklyn party kid, she'd feel right at home in The Lost Night A juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip." - Janelle Brown

"Exciting, gripping, disquieting...a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls.This season's must-read novel." - Rene Denfeld

"Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you've ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book." - Caroline Kepnes

"Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut." - Jessica Knoll

"This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you're in the midst of your invincible twenties, or if you've ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, how in the world did I live to tell the tale?" - Camille Perri

"A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory. Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins." - Jo Piazza

"I loved this very cool thriller that puts you bang in the middle of New York's hippest crowd. The damaged narrator will keep you second-guessing all the way. I read it in two days!" - C J Tudor


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Andrea Bartz's The Lost Night

Hardback Editions

February 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lost Night: A Novel
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
ISBN: 0-525-57471-9 / 978-0-525-57471-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2020 : UK Paperback

Title: The Lost Night
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
ISBN: 1-4091-9674-7 / 978-1-4091-9674-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Night
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
ISBN: 1-76085-106-X / 978-1-76085-106-4 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Night: A Novel
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
ISBN: 1-984824-92-9 / 978-1-984824-92-9
Publisher: Random House LCC US
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Night: A Novel
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Night: A Novel
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Night
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Night: A Novel
Author(s): Andrea Bartz
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA