book cover of The Stolen Letter
Added by 29 of our members

The Stolen Letter

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
The longer her imprisonment went on, the more she cast her mind back to the stolen hours they had spent together. His love had blown in like an unexpected breath of warm summer air, giving her the promise of life and joy. But now they had been torn apart and she was tormented by the thought that they might never be reunited.

Italy, 1938: When Stella arrives in Florence, it’s love at first sight. She is wowed by the rolling hills dotted with olive trees, the buttermilk villas with shuttered windows and terracotta roofs that glow gloriously in the sunlight. Even the breeze holds the scent of freedom – freedom from England, where the shadow of her past haunted her.

Then there is Ted, an American journalist who is wild and mischievous, with an arrogance bordering on rude. Stella is infuriated by him – but she cannot deny the lure of the danger and excitement he promises.

But there is something dark under the bright surface of this beautiful country, with unspeakable tragedies just around the corner. When the Nazis take control of Italy, Stella and Ted – and whatever dreams the future held for them – are ripped apart. As bombs descend, destroying everything in their wake, there is nothing to do but sit in darkness, praying to see tomorrow.

And it seems that even in Italy, Stella’s past has found her. Somewhere in the winding streets of Florence there is a letter that could change the course of her fate. Unknown to her, it holds a secret with the power to rewrite her past, and everything she has been running away from. But will she live to find it? And with the odds stacked against her, will she ever see Ted again?

This beautifully spun and stirring tale is about the impossible tragedies of war and the miraculous possibilities of love. Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, Rhys Bowen’s The Tuscan Child, and The Letter by Kathryn Hughes will be utterly captivated by this spectacular historical page-turner.

Readers absolutely love Clara Benson:


AmazingOne of my favourite stories… A brilliant story that is full of twists and turns… I felt like I was on the edge of my seat the whole time while reading… A must-read.’ Chells and Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my word, this was definitely an emotive and additive read, and then someI felt myself well up… I fully immersed myself in the story and I knew that nothing much would be done for the rest of the day as I would be too busy reading!... I was too hookedSuperbly written… I became so emotionally involved with certain characters that every time they felt pain, I felt pain…The author uses such vivid and realistic descriptions that I actually felt as though I was part of the story myself.’ Ginger Book Geek, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

AmazingI truly loved this book… Clara Benson does a masterful job of bringing her characters to life.’ Historically Yours, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Stirring, captivating and electrifyingSo poignant it could sever readers’ heartstrings.’ Bookish Jottings, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A beautifully devastating book. Highly emotional and utterly captivating from the first page to the last.’ Loopyloulaura, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Clara Benson's The Stolen Letter

Paperback Editions

September 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Stolen Letter: A completely gripping and emotional World War 2 historical novel
Author(s): Clara Benson
ISBN: 1-83888-202-2 / 978-1-83888-202-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Letter
Author(s): Clara Benson
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Letter
Author(s): Clara Benson
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Letter
Author(s): Clara Benson
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Letter
Author(s): Clara Benson
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Letter: A completely gripping and emotional World War 2 historical novel
Author(s): Clara Benson
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU