New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Voice of the Falconer

(The second book in the Pietro Alighieri series)
A novel by

In the tradition of Dorothy Dunnett and Bernard Cornwell, David Blixt's latest volume in his historical epic of early Renaissance Italy picks up eight years after the end of The Master of Verona. Having been placed in charge of Cesco - the bastard child reputed to be the only male progeny of Francesco ('Cangrande') della Scala - the political & economic leader of Verona - Pietro Alaghieri has been raising the child in exile in Ravenna. Now 1325 and the word goes out that Cangrande has died - now the question of succession is in the air and the only viable option is the unpleasant nephew, Mastino, now sixteen.

In Ravenna, Dante Alaghieri, Pietro's father, has been dead for some years and while he was reviled in life, in death his former hometown wishes to claim him - and his body - for themselves. Even if it means hiring grave-robbers. But robbers are the least of Pietro's concerns - Cesco is beginning to figure out that there's something unusual about his parentage that is being kept from him, and someone else has apparently figured out the riddle of Cesco's parentage and is determined to take him out of the picture. With all of their lives at stake, not to mention the tentative peace of Italy, Pietro must act to protect them all. But far behind the scenes is a mastermind pulling everyone's strings - one who stands to lose, or gain, the most.

Similar Books by other authors...

The Water Devil
(Margaret of Ashbury, book 3)

Judith Merkle Riley

Wine of Violence
(Medieval Mystery, book 1)

Priscilla Royal

A Season of Knives
(Sir Robert Carey, book 2)

P F Chisholm

The Silent Boy
Andrew Taylor
Used availability for David Blixt's Voice of the Falconer

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

July 2010 : USA Hardback
Title: Voice of the Falconer
Author(s): David Blixt
ISBN: 0-312-37581-6 / 978-0-312-37581-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: St Martins Press
Availability: Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

December 2015 : USA Paperback
Title: Voice Of The Falconer (Star-Cross'd)
Author(s): David Blixt
ISBN: 1-944540-02-4 / 978-1-944540-02-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sordelet Ink
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: Voice Of The Falconer (Star-Cross'd) (Volume 2)
Author(s): David Blixt
ISBN: 0-615-78315-5 / 978-0-615-78315-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sordelet Ink
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

April 2012 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Voice of the Falconer (Star-Cross'd Book 2)
Author(s): David Blixt
Publisher: Sordelet Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for