book cover of The Windfall
Added by 1 of our members

The Windfall

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
A heartfelt comedy of manners for fans of Seating Arrangements and Crazy Rich Asians, Diksha Basu's debut novel unfolds the story of a family discovering what it means to be nouveau riche in modern India.

Hilarious and wise, The Windfall illuminates with warmth and charm the precariousness of social status, the fragility of pride and, above all, the human drive to build and share a home. Even the rich, it turns out, need to belong somewhere.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"A comedy of manners for the globalized 21st century, Delhi Riche is equal parts heart and laugh by a writer who is a new star." - David Ebershoff

"i so loved this novel-laugh-out-loud funny and yet deeply touching." - Deborah Moggach

"A complete joy from start to finish." - Kamila Shamsie

"The funniest novel to come out of India in years, Diksha Basu's Delhi Riche is a timely snapshot of Delhi families on the way up, down and sideways." - Gary Shteyngart


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Diksha Basu's The Windfall

Hardback Editions

May 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Windfall (Thorndike Press Large Print Peer Picks)
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 1-4328-5107-1 / 978-1-4328-5107-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 1-4088-8871-8 / 978-1-4088-8871-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Windfall: A Novel
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 0-451-49891-7 / 978-0-451-49891-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 1-4088-8870-X / 978-1-4088-8870-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : Paperback

Title: The Windfall - Target Club Pick
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 1-984822-12-8 / 978-1-984822-12-3
Publisher: Broadway Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Windfall: A Novel
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 0-451-49892-5 / 978-0-451-49892-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Broadway Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 9386606623 / 978-9386606624
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 1-4088-8903-X / 978-1-4088-8903-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


1982 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Desmond Bagley
ISBN: 1-5247-6128-1 / 978-1-5247-6128-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Rupa Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   


Audio Editions

July 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Diksha Basu
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon   


July 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Diksha Basu
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Windfall: A Novel
Author(s): Diksha Basu
ISBN: 1-5247-7409-X / 978-1-5247-7409-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Windfall: A Novel
Author(s): Diksha Basu
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Windfall: A Novel
Author(s): Diksha Basu
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Windfall
Author(s): Diksha Basu
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Windfall: A Novel
Author(s): Diksha Basu
Publisher: Broadway Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA