Nadifa Mohamed's picture

Nadifa Mohamed

Somalia (b.1981)

Nadifa Mohamed was born in Hargeisa (now in the Republic of Somaliland) in 1981 and moved as a child to England in 1986, staying permanently when war broke out in Somalia.

She lives in London and her first novel, Black Mamba Boy, based on her father's memories of his travels in the 1930s, was published in 2010. It was longlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction and the Dylan Thomas Prize and shortlisted for the John Llewellyn-Rhys Memorial Prize and the Guardian First Book Award. It won the 2010 Betty Trask Prize.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book nominee (2010) : Black Mamba Boy
Betty Trask Award Best First Novel winner (2010) : Black Mamba Boy
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2021) : The Fortune Men

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors