book cover of Rites of Passage

Rites of Passage

A collection of stories by

Rites of Passage gathers four long stories, one of which is original to the collection. "Bartholomew Burns and the Brain Invaders" features a Victorian London facing the threat of alien invasion and the mysterious 'Guardian' who saves the day. "Guardians of the Phoenix" is set in a near-future, post-apocalyptic world where water is in short supply and roaming bands will do anything to obtain it, while "Sunworld" is about a strange world where the sun is fixed eternally overhead and Yarrek Merwell makes a discovery that will change everything. The longest story in the collection, "Beneath the Ancient Sun" has never appeared before and is set on a far-future Earth where giant crabs and a swollen sun threaten humanity's very existence.

Eric Brown's stories combine memorable characters, fascinating settings, and a passionate concern for story-telling that has made this BSFA award-winning author one of the leaders of the field.

"Brown sketches a complex world full of bitter idealists and fantastic landscapes
where nothing is as it seems" Publishers Weekly

"Eric Brown spins a terrific yarn" SFX

"This is the rediscovery of wonder" Stephen Baxter on Helix

"SF suffused with a cosmopolitan and literary sensibility" Paul McAuley

"Brown's spectacular creativity creates a constantly compelling read" Kirkus Book Reviews

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors

Children of Ruin
(Children of Time, book 2)
Adrian Tchaikovsky

Used availability for Eric Brown's Rites of Passage

Paperback Editions

June 2014 : USA Paperback

Title: Rites of Passage
Author(s): Eric Brown
ISBN: 1-4995-0031-9 / 978-1-4995-0031-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

June 2014 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Rites of Passage
Author(s): Eric Brown
Publisher: infinity plus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU