Ian Watson's picture

Ian Watson

UK flag (b.1943)

Ian Watson's many novels have won innumerable prizes and awards, starting with the John W. Campbell Award and the French Prix Apollo for his first novel The Embedding. His latest, Mockymen, will be published by Golden Gryphon Press in 2003, and he has also written enough short fiction to fill eight collections. He lives in the heart of rural England with a cat.

Genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy,
Waters of Destiny (with Andy West)
   1. Assassins (2013)
     aka Assassins Legacy
   2. Tongue of Knowledge (2012)
     aka Assassins' Endgame
thumbno image available
Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Ian Watson
Short stories
The Wild Hunt (1966)
The Blood Like Milk (1973)
The Ghosts of Luna (1974)
Our Love So Truly Meridional (1974)
Programmed Love Story (1974)
Sitting on a Starwood Stool (1974)
To the Pump Room with Jane (1975)
The Event Horizon (1976)
The Girl Who Was Art (1976)
Agoraphobia, A.D.2000 (1977)
On Cooking the First Hero in Spring (1977)
The Roentgen Refugees (1977)
Immune Dreams (1978)
My Soul Swims in a Goldfish Bowl (1978)
The Rooms of Paradise (1978)
A Time-Span to Conjure with (1978)
The Very Slow Time Machine [short story] (1978)Hugo (nominee)
Bud (1980)
The World Science Fiction Convention of 2080 (1980)
Jean Sandwich, the Sponsor, and I (1981)
The Mystic Marriage of Salome (1981)
Cruising (1983)
In the Mirror of the Earth (1983)
Slow Birds [short story] (1983)Hugo (nominee)
Nebula Awards (nominee)
The Width of the World (1983)
The Bloomsday Revolution (1984)
The Flesh of Her Hair (1984)
Ghost Lecturer (1984)
Mistress of Cold (1984)
Universe on the Turn (1984)
The Legend of the Seven Who Found the True Egg of Lightning (1985)
The People on the Precipice (1985)
White Socks (1985)
Cold Light (1986)
The Great Atlantic Swimming Race (1986)
When Jesus Comes Down the Chimney (1986)
Jewels in an Angel's Wing (1987)
The Case of the Glass Slipper (1988)
In Her Shoes (1988)
Lost Bodies (1988)
The Eye of the Ayatollah (1990)
Happy Hour (1990)
Lambert Lambert (1990)
Stalin's Teardrops [short story] (1990)
The Odor of Cocktail Cigarettes (1991)
Virtually Lucid Lucy (1992)
Ahead! (1995)
The Amber Room (1995)
Custom-Built Girl (1996)
The Great Escape [short story] (1996)
Tulips from Amsterdam (1996)
The China Cottage (1997)
A Day Without Dad (1997)
When Thought-mail Failed (2000)

John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee (1974) : The Embedding
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1976) : The Embedding
Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1979) : The Very Slow Time Machine [short story]
Hugo Best Novellette nominee (1984) : Slow Birds [short story]
Nebula Awards Best Novellette nominee (1984) : Slow Birds [short story]
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1997) : Oracle

Ian Watson recommends
A Wreath of Stars (1976)
Bob Shaw
"An exciting, cunningly devised novel... unputdownable, magnificently implausible... one of Shaw's most entertaining novels."
Blood and Grit (1990)
Simon Clark
"Cruelly brilliant and destabilizing."
The Crow Maiden (2001)
Sarah Singleton
"A brilliant novel, powerful, sensuous, earthy, and often quite luminously magical. The story makes sense, the characters are well drawn and sympathetic (including their faults) and the pacing is about right because readers will wish to revel--descriptions have a wonderful richness and precision of language and there are many brilliant scenes."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors