book cover of The Lying Dutchman
Added by 8 members

The Lying Dutchman

(The sixth book in the Master Mercurius Mystery series)
A novel by

Master Mercurius returns to England in another humorous mystery! Perfect for fans of Andrew Taylor, C J Sansom, S J Parris and Ken Follett.

Will Mercurius make it out of the English court alive?

1685, The Netherlands

Master Mercurius has once again been summoned to The Hague by Stadhouder William of Orange. And a letter from William is never good news.

King Charles II of England has died and William, with his wife Mary, is now next in line to the throne once the current king, James II dies.

But Charles II’s illegitimate son, the Duke of Monmouth, has put a spanner in the works.

Monmouth is being encouraged to stage a rebellion and take the English throne. William needs to stop him so as not to jeopardise his own claim, but he also wants to keep Monmouth as an ally.

So, Mercurius is ordered to travel once again to England, and this time on an even more dangerous mission. He must plant a letter containing Monmouth’s invasion plans at court so that James summons an army in response and scares Monmouth off.

The only problem is that if Mercurius is caught and tried for espionage, the punishment is certain death…

The Lying Dutchman is the sixth historical murder investigation in the Master Mercurius Mystery series: atmospheric crime thrillers set in seventeenth-century Europe.

BOOK ONE: Death in Delft
BOOK TWO: Untrue Till Death
BOOK THREE: Dishonour and Obey
BOOK FOUR: The Noose’s Shadow
BOOK FIVE: The Vanishing Children
BOOK SIX: The Lying Dutchman

Genre: Historical Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Graham Brack's The Lying Dutchman

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors