book cover of When Heroes Flew
Added by 5 of our members

When Heroes Flew

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
An award-winning novel of extraordinary bravery, inspired by the true story of one of the most harrowing air raids ever flown. Fans of Beneath A Scarlet Sky, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this unforgettable tale of duty, honor, and compassion.

"...a bravura performance..." —Dwight Jon Zimmerman, New York Times bestselling author

For B-24 bomber pilot Al Lycoming, the mission was history in the making. For Women’s Airforce Service Pilot Vivian Wright, it was a chance to put her skills to the ultimate test...and share in the burden of combat.

Dispatched to Benghazi on mysterious orders, Al Lycoming finds nearly 200 other B-24 bombers being assembled...and a top secret assignment that will catapult them all into seemingly impenetrable Nazi defenses.

Their mission: a daring low-level attack on Hitler’s extensive oil refineries.

But when his co-pilot falls ill at the last moment, Al secretly finds help from an unlikely source—Vivian.

Together, the two fly towards dark skies filled with enemy flak and fighters...and into the pages of history.

With perspectives from American and German pilots alike, When Heroes Flew masterfully weaves together one of the most dangerous and incredible aerial operations of World War Two with a riveting tale of bravery, suspense, and self-sacrifice.

____________________________

Praise for H.W. “Buzz” Bernard’s WHEN HEROES FLEW:

"Highly recommended." —P.T. Deutermann, author of Pacific Glory

“World War II angst and action brought to life." —Commander George Wallace, USN (Ret.), author of the Hunter Killer series

“This book gripped me from the very first page...In real life, this WW2 mission resulted in the award of Five Medals of Honor. In my view, they all deserved one. Highly recommended.” —Rachel Wesson, author of The Orphan Train series

"...feel the vibration, smell the exhaust, and sense the fear." —Tom Young, author of Silver Wings, Iron Cross

"...chuckle and weep in tandem while forgetting everything around you but the story itself." —Kathleen M. Rodgers, author of The Flying Cutterbucks

"[The pilot's]...amazing courage, and that of the entire group, is subtly drawn." —John J. Gobbell, author of the Todd Ingram series

“Strap in! It’s one hell of a ride!” —Don Keith, author of Final Bearing

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Highly recommended." - P T Deutermann

"[The pilot's]...amazing courage, and that of the entire group, is subtly drawn. Five medals of honor were actually awarded that day for that one raid. Sitting in the cockpit with Al Lycoming will tell you why." - John J Gobbell

"Strap in! It's one hell of a ride!" - Don Keith

"...chuckle and weep in tandem while forgetting everything around you but the story itself." - Kathleen M Rodgers

"...feel the vibration, smell the exhaust, and sense the fear." - Tom Young


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for H W 'Buzz' Bernard's When Heroes Flew

Hardback Editions

April 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew (1)
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard, TBD
ISBN: 1-951249-98-4 / 978-1-951249-98-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew: The Shangri-La Raiders (2)
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
ISBN: 1-64875-110-5 / 978-1-64875-110-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


April 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
ISBN: 1-951249-97-6 / 978-1-951249-97-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew: The Shangri-La Raiders
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: When Heroes Flew
Author(s): H W "Buzz" Bernard
Publisher: Severn River Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU