Joan Barfoot's picture

Joan Barfoot

Canada (b.1946)

Joan Barfoot is an award-winning novelist whose work has been compared internationally with that of Anne Tyler, Carol Shields, Margaret Drabble and Margaret Atwood. Her novels include Abra, which won the Books in Canada first novels award, Dancing in the Dark, which became an award-winning Canadian entry in the Cannes and Toronto Film Festivals, Duet for Three, Family News, Plain Jane, Charlotte and Claudia Keeping in Touch, Some Things About Flying, and Getting Over Edgar. Her 2001 novel, Critical Injuries, was longlisted for the 2002 Man Booker Prize and shortlisted for the 2001 Trillium Book Award. In 1992 she was given the Marian Engel Award. Also a journalist during much of her career, she lives in London, Ontario, Canada.
   Abra (1978)
   Gaining Ground (1980)
   Dancing in the Dark (1982)
   Duet for Three (1985)
   Family News (1989)
   Plain Jane (1992)
   Charlotte and Claudia Keeping in Touch (1994)
   Some Things About Flying (1997)
   Getting Over Edgar (1999)
   Critical Injuries (2001)
   Luck (2005)
   Exit Lines (2008)
Joan Barfoot recommends
The Restoration of Emily (2006)
Kim Moritsugu
"Smart, crisp, witty and serious... a romp of a novel for the grown-ups among us."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors