New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

A Fragment of Fear

(1965)
A novel by

 

"This novel comprises some of the best work of an extremely gifted and perhaps under-regarded British crime novelist.... What gave John Bingham his magic was something we look for in every writer, too often in vain: an absolute command of the internal landscape of his characters, acutely observed by a humane but wonderfully corrosive eye."
John Le Carré


On a recuperative trip in Italy after a car accident, reporter and novelist James Compton is witness to the discovery of a murder victim, a woman who had been vacationing at the same hotel. Lucy Dawson seemed like a gentle old lady, and so the motive for her death appeared to be unmeditated assault. But when he returns to England and makes a benign inquiry into her background, Compton receives a note warning him to leave the past alone -- a note clearly written on his own typewriter, though his apartment shows no sign of a break-in.

Unable to resist pursuing the unfinished story, Compton's own investigation reveals a sinister side to Lucy Dawson and a cold-blooded conspiracy she may have helped to perpetrate while alive. Suddenly Compton finds a dangerous net closing in around him: threatening phone calls, terrifying invasions of privacy, and no way of proving to the police that anyone is responsible but himself.

In the tradition of Agatha Christie and Patricia Highsmith, John Bingham's writing has earned him a place amongst the great suspense writers of the twentieth century. With taut, compelling prose, A Fragment of Fear is a captivating thriller by a master storyteller at the height of his powers.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Black Widow
(Gabriel Allon, book 16)

Daniel Silva

Ashenden
W Somerset Maugham

Journey Into Fear
Eric Ambler

The Arms Maker of Berlin
Dan Fesperman
 
Used availability for John Bingham's A Fragment of Fear


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 1976 : UK Hardback
Title: Fragment of Fear ([Gollancz vintage thriller])
Author(s): John Bingham
ISBN: 0-575-02112-8 / 978-0-575-02112-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Littlehampton Book Services Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

July 2014 : USA Paperback
Title: A Fragment of Fear
Author(s): John Bingham
ISBN: 1-4995-5586-5 / 978-1-4995-5586-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2007 : UK Paperback
Title: Fragment of Fear, A
Author(s): John Bingham
ISBN: 0-7528-8274-0 / 978-0-7528-8274-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2007 : USA Paperback
Title: A Fragment of Fear: A Novel
Author(s): John Bingham
ISBN: 1-4165-4048-2 / 978-1-4165-4048-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 1970 : UK Paperback
Title: Fragment of Fear
Author(s): John Bingham
ISBN: 0-586-02321-6 / 978-0-586-02321-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Panther
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: A FRAGMENT OF FEAR: WHOLLY ORIGINAL. BINGHAM AT HIS BEST
Author(s): JOHN BINGHAM
Publisher: HARDWAY BOOKS
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2007 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: A Fragment of Fear: A Novel
Author(s): John Bingham
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   



Search for