book cover of The Julian Barnes Collection 3-Book Bundle

The Julian Barnes Collection 3-Book Bundle

Flaubert's Parrot / England, England / Arthur and George
An omnibus of novels by

Julian Barnes, recipient of the 2011 Man Booker Prize, is one of our most highly regarded novelists. In this collection of three novels spanning his career, we see the broad range of his imagination and literary skill.

Barnes's third published novel, brought him worldwide acclaim and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. "A high literary entertainment" (The New York Times) Flaubert's Parrott is, among other things, a piercing glimpse at the nature of obsession and betrayal, both scholarly and romantic. Barnes's second shortlisted novel, England, England, is a sly, a satiric invention, in whicha visionary tycoon attempts to replicatea jolly old England that probably never really existed: Robin Hood's men are genuinely merry and the royals all behave themselves impeccably, until, of course, everything begins to go horribly wrong. Finally, Arthur & George re-creates late-Victorian Britain, in which the fates of two vastly different men become entwined, one seeking vindication in a world that looks askance at his origins, the other creating the world's most famous detective, while keeping his own secrets.

Used availability for Julian Barnes's The Julian Barnes Collection 3-Book Bundle

Kindle Editions

December 2011 : USA Kindle edition

Title: The Julian Barnes Booker Prize Finalist Collection, 3-Book Bundle: Flaubert's Parrot; England, England; Arthur & George (Vintage International)
Author(s): Julian Barnes
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon