Julian Barnes's picture

Julian Barnes

(Julian Patrick Barnes)
UK flag (b.1946)

aka Dan Kavanagh

Julian Barnes is the author of twelve novels, including The Sense of an Ending, which won the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. He has also written three books of short stories, Cross Channel, The Lemon Table and Pulse; four collections of essays; and two books of non-fiction, Nothing to be Frightened Of and the Sunday Times Number One bestseller Levels of Life. He lives in London.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Julian Barnes
no image availablethumb
Short stories
A Self-Possessed Woman (1975)

Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1984) : Flaubert's Parrot
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1998) : England, England
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2005) : Arthur and George
The Richard and Judy Best Read of the Year Best Book nominee (2006) : Arthur and George
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (2007) : Arthur and George
Booker Prize Best Novel winner (2011) : The Sense of an Ending
Costa Book Awards Best Novel nominee (2011) : The Sense of an Ending

Julian Barnes recommends
Don't Point That Thing at Me (1972)
(Mortdecai, book 1)
Kyril Bonfiglioli
"A rare mixture of wit and imaginative unpleasentness."
In the Dutch Mountains (1987)
Cees Nooteboom
"A poet's fairy tale, elegant and beguilling."
The Man Who Wasn't Maigret (1993)
Patrick Marnham
"I doubt if there will be a better, or a better written, portrait of Simenon for a long time."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors