book cover of Rabbit Hole
Added by 16 members
 

Rabbit Hole

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
A page-turning debut mystery that’s as addictive as a late-night Reddit binge, about a grieving woman obsessed with solving her sister’s cold-case disappearance via the true crime fandom

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn,
My Favorite Murder, and Fleabag

Ten years ago, Theodora “Teddy” Angstrom’s older sister, Angie, went missing. Her case remains unsolved. Now Teddy’s father, Mark, has killed himself. Unbeknownst to Mark’s family, he had been active in a Reddit community fixated on Angie, and Teddy can’t help but fall down the same rabbit hole.

Teddy’s investigation quickly gets her in hot water with her gun-nut boyfriend, her long-lost half brother, and her colleagues at the prestigious high school where she teaches English. Further complicating matters is Teddy’s growing obsession with Mickey, a charming amateur sleuth who is eerily keen on helping her solve the case.

Bewitched by Mickey, Teddy begins to lose her moral compass. As she struggles to reconcile new information with old memories, her erratic behavior reaches a fever pitch, but she won’t stop until she finds Angie—or destroys herself in the process.

Rabbit Hole is an outrageous and heart-wrenching character study of a mind twisted by grief, a biting critique of the internet’s voyeurism, and an intriguing exploration of the blurry lines of female friendship.


Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A searing portrayal of loss, adolescence, and grief with all the twists and turns of a thriller. Teddy is a fantastically compelling narrator and her relationship with Mickey is twisted yet perfectly believable. I tore through this in a few days - a mindblowing debut." - Heather Darwent

"From the first line, Brody's novel had its hands around my throat. While Rabbit Hole has the pace and intrigue of a thriller, and brutal and evocative prose, what makes it stand out is its narrator, Brody's refusal to soften her edges or portray her as anything less than a young woman savaged by grief. I followed breathlessly along, both wishing I could stop Teddy's Internet-fueled descent into madness and eagerly awaiting the next dark, delicious corner she'd lead me." - Jean Kyoung Frazier

"I absolutely loved this book. Rabbit Hole is an unflinching portrait of grief and obsession, as well as a genuinely gripping mystery. The characters feel raw and real, the story is dark and timely. I couldn't put it down." - Ainslie Hogarth

"In Teddy Angstrom, Kate Brody has constructed a memorable narrator whose distinctive blend of self-awareness and self-destructiveness will keep you both cringing and rooting for her. A witty and moving exploration of grief, loneliness, and obsession as well as a page-turning mystery, Rabbit Hole sucked me in more than any Reddit conspiracy theory thread ever could." - Isabel Kaplan

"Kate Brody's multifaceted debut combines sensitive characterization, wry narration, and use of modern technology worthy of Jennifer Egan with the brilliantly evocative suspense of a Tana French novel. I was riveted!" - Joanna Margaret

"I fell down Rabbit Hole in an obsessive spiral. So many good twists! It's a pitch-black story about ambiguous loss, and a blazingly feminist take on the self-destructive pull of the internet. And it's poignant. And it's unflinching. And that ending! Kate Brody is a star." - Kate Reed Petty

"Blistering, sexy, concentric and dark, Rabbit Hole is the ultimate literary thriller for the digital age, a reddit whodunnit that is at once hyper modern, and grounded by the deep emotionality of Kate Brody's enduring questions about grief and girlhood, caretaking and identity and how, in the absence of truth, to live a meaningful life. An unputdownable debut from a writer I would follow anywhere." - Allie Rowbottom

"Kate Brody's Rabbit Hole is a smart and edgy mystery that kept me turning pages feverishly from start to finish. I found myself tumbling down the rabbit hole right alongside Teddy, the novel's flawed and fascinating protagonist, desperate to solve the mystery of her troubled sister Angie's disappearance. This is a story about girlhood, grief, the slippery nature of memory, and our society's true crime obsession, and Brody delivers insights on these themes in prose that is both raw and beautiful. As we follow Teddy on her downward spiral, we are forced to ask: How much is the truth worth?" - Alexis Schaitkin

"A troubling mystery rustles its feathers beneath Brody's gritty, gorgeous prose. Brody shows how the internet bewitches us, how we seek it out looking for an escape but instead are confronted by our own shadow-selves. Tense and engrossing." - Bea Setton


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Kate Brody's Rabbit Hole


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors