book cover of You Were Always Mine
Added by 1 of our members

You Were Always Mine

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
"An electrifying family drama that shows the dark side of adoption, You Were Always Mine is the kind of book you will want to finish in one sitting." - Bustle

The acclaimed author of Little Broken Things returns with another "race-to-the-finish family drama" (People) about a single mother who becomes embroiled in a mystery that threatens to tear apart what's left of her family.

Jessica Chamberlain, newly separated and living with her two sons in a small Iowa town, can't believe that a tragedy in another state could have anything to do with her. But when her phone rings one quiet morning, her world is shattered. As she tries to pick up the pieces and make sense of what went wrong, Jess begins to realize that a tragic death is just the beginning. Soon she is caught in a web of lies and half-truths - and she's horrified to learn that everything leads back to her seven-year-old adopted son, Gabriel.

Years ago, Gabe's birth mother requested a closed adoption and Jessica was more than happy to comply. But when her house is broken into and she discovers a clue that suggests her estranged husband was in close contact with Gabe's biological mother, she vows to uncover the truth at any cost. A harrowing story of tenacious love and heartbreaking betrayal, You Were Always Mine is about the wars we wage to keep the ones we love close, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Baart brilliantly weaves mystery into family drama...The clues are left in plain sight, leaving the reader on edge trying to solve the puzzle before it’s too late. The conclusion is both sinister, and shocking. This is domestic suspense at its best." - Sandra Block

"Rarely, a book comes along that feels like destiny: a certain story that could only be written by a certain author. Nicole Baart rips from the zeitgeist a novel that is heartfelt and honest, told by characters who are forthright and fragile. This twisting tale about the dark side of adoption has all the suspense of a domestic thriller. But Baart digs deeper, reflecting every parent’s innermost insecurities and one of modern society’s most crucial questions: what is family?’" - Jo Furniss

"Tense, emotionally-charged, and at times frightening, You Were Always Mine opened my eyes to the dark side of adoption. With characters that are true to life and a tremendous depth of knowledge into a shocking subject matter, this is Baart's best book yet. Completely engrossing!" - Mary Kubica

"Mothers everywhere will recognize and celebrate the fierce, imperfect strength of Jessica Chamberlain as she tries to parent her sons—one birthed and one adopted—in the wake of her estranged husband’s death. A startlingly authentic mix of suspense, grief, and family drama, You Were Always Mine reconstructs the pieces of a shattered life to reveal the darkness that destroyed it. You will never look at adoption the same way again." - Mindy Mejia

"Original, chilling, and frighteningly realistic. With a mother we adore and children we root for, this sinister and heartbreaking family drama will have you turning pages as fast as you can. Clear your schedule and prepare to be wowed!" - Hank Phillippi Ryan

"Equal parts tear-jerker and page-turner . . . Entwines the heartbreak of a mother's struggle with the urgency of a mystery that won't let her (or you) go. Compelling, heartfelt, and satisfying to the breathless finish." - Jessica Strawser


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Nicole Baart's You Were Always Mine

Hardback Editions

May 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine (Thorndike Press Large Print Women's Fiction)
Author(s): Nicole Baart
ISBN: 1-4328-6372-X / 978-1-4328-6372-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Hardback
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine: A Novel
Author(s): Nicole Baart
ISBN: 1-982108-11-8 / 978-1-982108-11-3
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine: A Novel
Author(s): Nicole Baart
ISBN: 1-5011-3362-4 / 978-1-5011-3362-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine
Author(s): Nicole Baart
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine
Author(s): Nicole Baart
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine
Author(s): Nicole Baart
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine
Author(s): Nicole Baart
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine: A Novel
Author(s): Nicole Baart
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: You Were Always Mine: A Novel
Author(s): Nicole Baart
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon UK