New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
The year is 1917.

When the newly qualified pilots Paul Dacre and Freddie Cunningham arrive in Foutriquet-en-Crotte in France in the summer of 1917 to join the fierce allied fight against the Germans, they are fresh out of school and filled with enthusiasm for the task that awaits them.

However, placed under the command of the eccentric Major Simon Beresford, it's not long before their optimistic attitudes are truly tested by the grim reality of life at the front.

As they settle in and get to know their fellow squadrons, they quickly find themselves coming face to face with a bewildering and terrifying succession of new emotional and physical experiences.

From flying and fighting, to fleeting romances, Dacre and Cunningham soon discover that it is hard to stay positive in the face of adversity.

As they experience a range of firsts, from their first flight to their first kill, and their first real taste of romance, they learn a lot about the differences in human nature, the secret lives of women and, above all, about themselves.

'Take Off' is a thrilling World War One novel about the daring escapades of RAF pilots. It was previously published as 'The Fire's Breath'.

It is perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean and Jack Higgins.

'A thrilling page turner.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.

Richard Townshend Bickers volunteered for the RAF on the outbreak of the second world war and served, with a Permanent Commission, for eighteen years. He wrote a range of military fiction and non-fiction books, including 'Torpedo Attack', 'My Enemy Came Nigh', 'Bombing Run' and 'Summer of No Surrender'.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at www.endeavourpress.com. Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via http://on.fb.me/1HweQV7. We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.

 
Used availability for Richard Townshend Bickers's Take Off


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Kindle Editions

May 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Take Off
Author(s): Richard Townshend Bickers
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for