book cover of Animal Instinct
Added by 1 of our members

Animal Instinct

(2018)
(The first book in the Joe Cassidy series)
A novel by

 
 

Ex-policeman Joe Cassidy investigates the gruesome killing of a young woman, but will he learn things about those closest to him that he would rather not know?


Since a tragic case went horribly wrong on his watch, Joe Cassidy has left the police force and separated from his wife. Living in a dilapidated shack on a Kent beach, Joe takes on occasional work as a private investigator. When the daughter of a wealthy zoo owner is murdered a long-owed debt is called on and Joe agrees to help solve the crime - much to the chagrin of his estranged wife who happens to be the senior investigating police officer working the case. Things become further complicated and both are conflicted when their son falls under suspicion.

As Joe learns about the victim's family and unearths clues about a legacy of secrets, he must use all of his insight and experience to prevent further deaths occurring. Can the behaviour of the animals he observes offer a clue to the identity of the murderer?

Perfect for fans of Peter May, Tim Weaver and Joy Ellis.

Praise for Simon Booker

‘Simon Booker’s fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read for anyone who loves a good page turner’ Simon Kernick

‘Val McDermid meets Stephen King’ Hadley Freeman

‘First book I’ve read by this author but it won’t be the last!’ Reader review

‘Compelling and well-plotted’ Reader review of Animal Instinct

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Booker's fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read." - Simon Kernick


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Simon Booker's Animal Instinct

Audio Editions

April 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Animal Instinct: Human Zoo: An Audible Original Drama
Author(s): Simon Booker
Publisher: Audible Originals
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Animal Instinct: Human Zoo: An Audible Original Drama
Author(s): Simon Booker
Publisher: Audible Originals
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Animal Instinct: Human Zoo: An Audible Original Drama
Author(s): Simon Booker
Publisher: Audible Originals
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Animal Instinct: Human Zoo: An Audible Original Drama
Author(s): Simon Booker
Publisher: Audible Originals
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2018 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Animal Instinct: A compulsively gripping crime thriller
Author(s): Simon Booker
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU