book cover of Spare Me the Truth
Added by 43 members
 

Spare Me the Truth

(2016)
(The first book in the Dan Forrester series)
A novel by

 
 
When everything you know turns out to be a lie, who can you trust? The explosive new thriller from much-loved crime veteran C.J. Carver

C.J. Carver is a top notch thriller writer and Spare Me The Truth is right up there with the best - Simon Kernick For fans of Lee Child and Jason Bourne, Spare Me the Truth is the gripping new thriller from the multi-award winning author of Blood Junction. Dan Forrester, piecing his life back together after the tragic death of his son, is approached in a supermarket by a woman who tells him everything he remembers about his life - and his son - is a lie. Grace Reavey, stricken by grief, is accosted at her mother's funeral. The threat is simple: pay the staggering sum her mother allegedly owed, or lose everything. Lucy Davies has been forced from the Met by her own maverick behaviour. Desperate to prove herself in her new rural post, she's on the hunt for a killer - but this is no small town criminal. Plunged into a conspiracy that will test each of them to their limits, these three strangers are brought together in their hunt for the truth, whatever it costs. And as their respective investigations become further and further entwined, it becomes clear that at the centre of this tangled web is a threat more explosive than any of them could have imagined. "Nothing short of brilliant . . . Carver has created a wonderful story here, sort of Jason Bourne meets Silence of the Lambs." - Michael Jecks, author of Blood on the Sands.


Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Spare Me the Truth is a complex tale of betrayal and deception. CJ Carver writes with compassion about characters she really cares about." - Parker Bilal

"An action-packed, Bourne-esque mystery thriller - impossible to put down." - Mason Cross

"fast-paced, high concept thriller that ticks all the boxes and then some. Strong women, international covert intrigue, and a nasty serial killer. I'm so glad this is the first of a series: I want more of amnesiac Dan Forrester and 'lively' PC Lucy Davies, and I want it now!" - Julia Crouch

"Had me reading till ridiculous hours of the night, needing to find out what happens next." - Ruth Downie

"From page one, Spare Me the Truth runs flat out on all cylinders. CJ Carver gives us everything: high-octane action, vivid characters, and thought-provoking mystery. Read it!" - Meg Gardiner

"A high octane mix of Jason Bourne game playing and gritty Brit noir, CJ Carver puts the pedal to the metal and doesn't let up...!" - Jack Grimwood

"Nothing short of brilliant . . . Carver has created a wonderful story here, sort of Jason Bourne meets Silence of the Lambs." - Michael Jecks

"CJ Carver is a top notch thriller writer and Spare Me The Truth is right up there with the best." - Simon Kernick


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for C J Carver's Spare Me the Truth


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors