book cover of Spare Me the Truth
Added by 17 of our members

Spare Me the Truth

(2016)
(The first book in the Dan Forrester series)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Lee Child and Jason Bourne, Spare Me the Truth is the gripping new thriller from the multi-award winning author of Blood Junction.

Dan Forrester, piecing his life back together after the tragic death of his son, is approached in a supermarket by a woman who tells him everything he remembers about his life - and his son - is a lie.

Grace Reavey, stricken by grief, is accosted at her mother's funeral. The threat is simple: pay the staggering sum her mother allegedly owed, or lose everything.

Lucy Davies has been forced from the Met by her own maverick behaviour. Desperate to prove herself in her new rural post, she's on the hunt for a killer - but this is no small town criminal.

Plunged into a conspiracy that will test each of them to their limits, these three strangers are brought together in their hunt for the truth, whatever it costs. And as their respective investigations become further and further entwined, it becomes clear that at the centre of this tangled web is a threat more explosive than any of them could have imagined.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Spare Me the Truth is a complex tale of betrayal and deception. CJ Carver writes with compassion about characters she really cares about." - Parker Bilal

"An action-packed, Bourne-esque mystery thriller - impossible to put down." - Mason Cross

"fast-paced, high concept thriller that ticks all the boxes and then some. Strong women, international covert intrigue, and a nasty serial killer. I'm so glad this is the first of a series: I want more of amnesiac Dan Forrester and 'lively' PC Lucy Davies, and I want it now!" - Julia Crouch

"Had me reading till ridiculous hours of the night, needing to find out what happens next." - Ruth Downie

"From page one, Spare Me the Truth runs flat out on all cylinders. CJ Carver gives us everything: high-octane action, vivid characters, and thought-provoking mystery. Read it!" - Meg Gardiner

"A high octane mix of Jason Bourne game playing and gritty Brit noir, CJ Carver puts the pedal to the metal and doesn't let up...!" - Jack Grimwood

"Nothing short of brilliant . . . Carver has created a wonderful story here, sort of Jason Bourne meets Silence of the Lambs." - Michael Jecks

"CJ Carver is a top notch thriller writer and Spare Me The Truth is right up there with the best." - Simon Kernick


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for C J Carver's Spare Me the Truth

Paperback Editions

April 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth: An explosive, high octane thriller (The Dan Forrester series)
Author(s): C J Carver
ISBN: 1-78576-033-5 / 978-1-78576-033-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: John Blake
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth: An explosive, high octane thriller (The Dan Forrester series)
Author(s): CJ Carver
ISBN: 1-78576-211-7 / 978-1-78576-211-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth
Author(s): C J Carver
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


September 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth
Author(s): C J Carver
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth
Author(s): C J Carver
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2017 : Australia MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth
Author(s): C J Carver
ISBN: 1-4894-0286-1 / 978-1-4894-0286-8 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2016 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth: 1
Author(s): C J Carver
ISBN: 1-4893-5311-9 / 978-1-4893-5311-5 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2016 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth: 1
Author(s): C J Carver
ISBN: 1-4893-5312-7 / 978-1-4893-5312-2 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

May 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth: An explosive, high octane thriller (The Dan Forrester series Book 1)
Author(s): CJ Carver
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Spare Me the Truth: An explosive, high octane thriller (The Dan Forrester series Book 1)
Author(s): CJ Carver
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU