book cover of Lost For Words
Added by 26 of our members

Lost For Words

(2017)
(The Lost for Words Bookshop)
A novel by

 
 
Compelling, irresistible, feel-good read. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

'Quirky, clever and unputdownable' Katie Fforde
'An exquisite story' Liz Fenwick
'Burns fiercely with love and hurt' Linda Green
'I cried like a motherf***er' Shelley Harris
'Intriguing and touching' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'An appealing character with a fascinating hinterland' DAILY MAIL
'A beautiful book' PRIMA

THIS BOOKSHOP KEEPS MANY SECRETS . . .

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never show you.

Into her refuge - the York book emporium where she works - come a poet, a lover, a friend, and three mysterious deliveries, each of which stirs unsettling memories.

Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past and she can't hide any longer. She must decide who around her she can trust. Can she find the courage to right a heartbreaking wrong? And will she ever find the words to tell her own story?

It's time to turn the pages of her past . . .

Praise for Lost for Words:

'Loveday is a marvellous character and she captured my heart from the very first page . . . and her bookshop is the bookshop of readers' dreams.'
Julie Cohen, bestselling author of Dear Thing

'Loveday is so spiky and likeable. I so loved Archie, Nathan and the book shop and the unfolding mystery'
Carys Bray, author of A Song For Issy Bradley and The Museum of You

'Beautifully written and atmospheric. Loveday is an endearing heroine, full of attitude and fragility. The haunting story of her past is brilliantly revealed.'
Tracy Rees, Sunday Times top ten bestselling author of Amy Snow

What you are saying about Lost for Words:

'Best book by far I've read this year'

'Sat in tears, stunned in silence . . . by far my new favourite book'

'I loved everything about Lost for Words'

'This is a truly magical book'

'Warm, wise and funny tale . . . with a dark and shocking twist'

'Could not put it down - absolutely, utterly loved it and hung on every word'

'I loved smart, spiky, sad Loveday and cried real tears'

'Will melt your heart and make you cry'

'Everything you could want from a book'

'One of the best books I have ever read'

'Loved this book. I laughed & cried & gripped the edge of the seat at times'

'A book you keep in your bag and can't wait for another spare 15 minutes to read some more'

'I laughed, I cried and, more importantly, I couldn't put the book down'

If you loved Lost for Words, don't miss Stephanie Butland's next book, where Ailsa Rae learns how to live . . .
Search for The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae (9781785764417).

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Loved the unfolding mystery." - Carys Bray

"Any book lovers out there would be mad not to adore the quirkily drawn character of Loveday who pulls you in right from the get go with her distinctive voice!" - Tracy Buchanan

"Loveday is a marvellous character and she captured my heart from the very first page . . . and her bookshop is the bookshop of readers' dreams." - Julie Cohen

"This book will warm and break your heart in equal measure!" - Claire Dyer

"An exquisite story." - Liz Fenwick

"Quirky, clever and unputdownable." - Katie Fforde

"OH poor, brilliant Loveday. Gorgeous, gorgeous bookshop book . . . So, so lovely!" - Sarah Franklin

"I loved it! Spent all day today engrossed in Loveday . . . a superbly drawn character." - Alex Gray

"Burns fiercely with love and hurt." - Linda Green

"I cried like a motherf***er." - Shelley Harris

"Wonderful. So many beautiful one-liners too!" - Ayisha Malik

"Beautifully written and atmospheric. Loveday is an endearing heroine, full of attitude and fragility. The haunting story of her past is brilliantly revealed." - Tracy Rees

"A beautiful, touching, moving, sweet treat of a book. Sad, intriguing, cleverly plotted, sometimes shocking, compelling read. I was with Loveday all the way. I absolutely loved it." - Jane Wenham-Jones


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Stephanie Butland's Lost For Words

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Lost for Words Bookshop (Thorndike Press Large Print Women's Fiction)
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-4328-5351-1 / 978-1-4328-5351-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-250-12453-0 / 978-1-250-12453-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Lost For Words: A heartwarming novel, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-78576-259-1 / 978-1-78576-259-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Lost For Words: A heartwarming novel, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-78576-325-3 / 978-1-78576-325-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-4272-9775-4 / 978-1-4272-9775-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2017 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lost For Words
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-4893-8475-8 / 978-1-4893-8475-1 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2017 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lost For Words
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-4893-8476-6 / 978-1-4893-8476-8 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lost for Words
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


March 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lost for Words
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lost for Words
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lost for Words
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lost For Words: A heartwarming novel, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU