A E Coppard's picture

A E Coppard

(Alfred Edgar Coppard)
UK flag (1878 - 1957)

Alfred Edgar Coppard was an English writer, noted for his influence on the short story form, and poet. He was born, the son of a tailor and a housemaid, in Folkestone, and had little formal education. He left school at the age of nine to work as an errand boy for a Jewish trouser maker in Whitechapel during the period of the Jack-the-Ripper murders.

In the early 1920s, and still unpublished, he was in Oxford and a leading light of a literary group, the New Elizabethans, who met in a pub to read Elizabethan drama. W. B. Yeats sometimes attended the meetings. At this period he met Richard Hughes and Edgell Rickword, amongst others.
   Count Stefan (1928)
   The Gollan (1929)
   The Man from Kilsheelan (1930)
   Pink Furniture (1930)
   Easter Day (1931)
   The Hundreth Story (1931)
   Crotty Shinkwin (1932)
   Ring the Bells of Heaven (1933)
   Tapster's Tapestry (1938)
   Lucy In Her Pink Jacket (1954)
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
thumbno image availableno image availablethumb
no image availablethumb
   Adam and Eve and Pinch Me (1921)
   Clorinda Walks in Heaven (1922)
   Hips and Haws (poems) (1922)
   The Black Dog (1923)
   Fishmonger's Fiddle (1925)
   The Field of Mustard (1926)
   Pelagea (poems) (1926)
   Yokohama Garland (poems) (1926)
   The Collected Poems (poems) (1928)
   Silver Circus (1928)
   Nixey's Harlequin (1931)
   Rummy, That Noble Game (1932)
   Dunky Fitlow (1933)
   Emergency Exit (1934)
   Cherry Ripe Poems (poems) (1935)
   Polly Oliver (1935)
   Ninepenny Flute (1937)
   You Never Know, Do You? (1939)
   Ugly Anna and Other Tales (1944)
   Fearful Pleasures (1946)
   Selected stories (1946)
   Selected Tales (1946)
   Dark-Eyed Lady (1947)
   The Collected Tales of A. E. Coppard (1951)
   Dusky Ruth (1974)
   The Higgler (1989)
   The Man from the Caravan (1999)
   Short Stories (2001)
   The Hurly Burly and Other Stories (2021)
thumbthumbthumbno image available
thumbno image availableno image availablethumb
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
Non fiction show
Omnibus editions show
Anthologies containing stories by A E Coppard
The Mammoth Book of Haunted House Stories (2000)
(The Mammoth Book of ...)
edited by
Peter Haining

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors