book cover of Queen High
Added by 4 of our members
 

Queen High

(2022)
(The second book in the Widowland series)
A novel by

 
 
The thrilling sequel to Widowland, 'Clever, thrilling, brilliantly imagined ... chillingly convincing post-war dystopia' (Clare Chambers).Perfect for fans of Fatherland and The Handmaid's Tale.

June, 1955

The Leader has been dead for two years. His assassination, on British soil, provoked violent retribution and intensified repression of British citizens, particularly women. Now, more than ever, the Protectorate is a place of surveillance and isolation - a land of spies.

Every evening Rose Ransom looks in the mirror and marvels that she's even alive. A mere woman, her role in the Leader's death has been miraculously overlooked. She still works at the Culture Ministry, where her work now focuses on the outlawed subject of Poetry, a form of writing that transmits subversive meanings, emotions and signals that cannot be controlled. Therefore all Poetry is banned and Rose is appointed a Poet Hunter.

To widespread surprise, President Eisenhower is to make a state visit to the Alliance and Rose is tasked with visiting the widowed Queen Wallis to provide a background briefing. When she arrives at the palace, she finds Wallis in a state of paranoia, desperate to return to America and enjoy the liberty of her homeland. She claims she has a secret document so explosive that it will blow the Protectorate apart - but will the last Queen of England pull the trigger on the Alliance?




Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Hardback Editions

October 2022 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Queen High: The brilliant sequel to Widowland
Author(s): C J Carey
ISBN: 1-5294-1203-X / 978-1-5294-1203-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

May 2023 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Queen High: The brilliant sequel to Widowland
Author(s): C J Carey
ISBN: 1-5294-1207-2 / 978-1-5294-1207-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

October 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Queen High
Author(s): C J Carey
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


October 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Queen High
Author(s): C J Carey
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2022 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Queen High: The brilliant sequel to Widowland
Author(s): C J Carey
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU