New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Weight of Night

A novel by

In the magnificent and brutal terrain of Glacier National Park, a devastating forest fire reveals a long ago crime that may be connected to the recent disappearance of a young boy, from the award-winning author of The Wild Inside and Mortal Fall - perfect for fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box.

In a land sculpted by glaciers, the forest is on fire. Thick smoke chokes the mountain air and casts a twilight glow over the imposing mountains and vistas of Montana's Glacier National Park. When firefighters are called in to dig fuel line breaks near the small town bordering the park, a crewmember is shocked to unearth a shallow grave containing human remains.

Park Police Officer Monty Harris is summoned to the site to conduct an excavation. But with a 2,500-degree incendiary monster threatening to barrel through the town and no forensic detective on hand, Monty must work outside protocol. So he seeks help from Gretchen Larson, the county's lead crime scene investigator, and someone on whom Monty feels he can rely.

The two are working against the clock to determine the true identity of the victim when a teenager suddenly disappears from one of the campgrounds in Glacier. Could the cases somehow be connected? As chances for recovery of the missing boy grow slimmer and the FBI finds only dead ends, Gretchen and Monty desperately race to fit all the pieces together in time.

The Weight of Night is Christine Carbo's latest book in a series which "paints a moving picture of complex, flawed people fighting to make their way in a wilderness where little is black or white" (Publishers Weekly). This gripping thriller is a tribute to the power of family, set against one of America's most majestic and unforgiving landscapes.

Used availability for Christine Carbo's The Weight of Night

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

June 2017 : USA Paperback
Title: The Weight of Night: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Christine Carbo
ISBN: 1-5011-5623-3 / 978-1-5011-5623-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for