Liz Nugent's picture

Liz Nugent


Before becoming a full-time writer, Liz Nugent worked in Irish film, theatre and television. In 2014 her first novel, Unravelling Oliver, was a Number One bestseller and won the Crime Fiction Prize in the 2014 Irish Book Awards. Her second novel, Lying in Wait, went straight to Number One in the Irish bestseller charts, remained there for nearly two months and won her a second IBA. She lives in Dublin with her husband.

Genres: Mystery
Liz Nugent recommends
The Fall Out (2016)
Margaret Scott
"A compelling read."
Girl Unknown (2016)
Karen Perry
"Full of intrigue and incident and keeps us guessing until the very last tragic page."
A Dangerous Crossing (2017)
Rachel Rhys
"A proper old-fashioned tale of thwarted romance, impossible glamour, murder and mayhem on the high seas . . . The pages turn themselves."
Everything But the Truth (2017)
Gillian McAllister
"A gripping, compelling page turner that kept me up half the night."
Tattletale (2017)
Sarah J Naughton
"A fast paced, brilliant page-turner... I predict a hit."
Are You Sleeping (2017)
Kathleen Barber
"Are You Sleeping will more than likely keep you up all night as this most compelling suspenseful novel unfolds. A classic whodunnit gets a very clever modern treatment that left this reader's heart racing right up to the last page."
My Little Eye (2017)
(Starke & Bell, book 1)
Stephanie Marland
"My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all."
The Ruin (2018)
(Cormac Reilly, book 1)
Dervla McTiernan
"A terrific read."
The Gravity of Love (2018)
Noëlle Harrison
"Noelle Harrison connects her beautifully drawn characters and weaves them into a story that entangled, enchanted and entranced this reader."
The House Swap (2018)
Rebecca Fleet
"Rebecca Fleet has created a perfectly contained cast of credible characters in a story so intriguing that you will be guessing right up to the last page. And it’s beautifully written too. I loved this book."
Becoming Belle (2018)
Nuala O'Connor
"Thoroughly engrossing and entertaining read. O'Connor's meticulous attention to period detail and scrutiny of the upper classes and their shallow lives [is] reminiscent of Edith Wharton at her very best. It also makes us question whether women have ever really escaped from the censorious judgement of Victorian times."
Foe (2018)
Iain Reid
"I’m not sure that humans have hackles, but something was creeping up my spine as I read this book, and I welcomed the shivers of shock and delight…. A mind-bending and genre-defying work of genius."
A House of Ghosts (2018)
W C Ryan
"Almost unbearably creepy and beautifully written."
The House on Vesper Sands (2018)
Paraic O'Donnell
"Like the love child of Dickens and Conan Doyle, but funnier than both."
Apple of My Eye (2019)
Claire Allan
"A brilliantly paced, intriguingly plotted and thoroughly enjoyable story. One of the best psych thrillers I've read this year."
Her One Mistake (2019)
Heidi Perks
"A terrifically suspenseful and intriguing novel that hooked this reader from beginning to end."
On My Life (2019)
Angela Clarke
"This book was so heaped with tension, threat and menace that I had to read it very quickly! Absolutely engrossing and entertaining as well as being a searing indictment of the penal system. This is an eye-opening, jaw-dropping read that will keep you up to the wee small hours."
The Killer in Me (2019)
(Dublin Crime Bureau, book 2)
Olivia Kiernan
"Brave and unflinching."
The Hiding Game (2019)
Louise Phillips
"Will enthral you to the end."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors