New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    

The Book of Mirrors

(2017)
A novel by

 

"Intelligent and sophisticated - a crime story told the way Picasso painted pictures. Highly recommended."
Lee Child


"An elegant, gripping, multi-layered tale about the illusory nature of truth and memory. I loved it."
Tammy Cohen


"I loved this twisty mind game! "
Julia Heaberlin


An elegant thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried.

When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the late 1980s, documenting his relationship with the protegee of the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. One night just before Christmas 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home. The case was never solved. Now, 25 years later, Katz suspects that Richard Flynn is either using his book to confess to the murder or to finally reveal who committed the violent crime.

But the manuscript ends abruptly - and its author is dying in the hospital with the missing pages nowhere to be found. Hell-bent on getting to the bottom of the story, Katz hires investigative journalist John Keller to research the murder and reconstruct the events for a true crime version of the memoir. Keller tracks down several of the mysterious key players, including retired police detective Roy Freeman, one of the original investigators assigned to the murder case, but he has just been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's. Inspired by John Keller's investigation, he decides to try and solve the case once and for all, before he starts losing control of his mind. A trip to the Potosi Correctional Centre in Missouri, several interviews, and some ingenious police work finally lead him to a truth that has been buried for over two decades...or has it?

Stylishly plotted, elegantly written, and packed with thrilling suspense until the final moments, The Book of Mirrors is a book within a book like you've never encountered before.

Genre: Mystery
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Her Every Fear
Peter Swanson

The Women in the Castle
Jessica Shattuck

The Thirst
(Harry Hole, book 11)

Jo Nesbø

Prussian Blue
(Bernie Gunther, book 12)

Philip Kerr
 
Used availability for E O Chirovici's The Book of Mirrors


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

February 2017 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors: A Novel
Author(s): E O Chirovici
ISBN: 1-5011-4154-6 / 978-1-5011-4154-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2017 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors
Author(s): E O Chirovici
ISBN: 1-78089-567-4 / 978-1-78089-567-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Century
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

September 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: The Book of Mirrors
Author(s): E O Chirovici
ISBN: 1-78475-513-3 / 978-1-78475-513-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Arrow
Availability: Amazon UK   

September 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: The Book of Mirrors
Author(s): E O Chirovici
ISBN: 1-78475-711-X / 978-1-78475-711-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Arrow
Availability: Amazon UK   

January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors
Author(s): E O Chirovici
ISBN: 1-78089-568-2 / 978-1-78089-568-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Century
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

February 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors: A Novel
Author(s): E O Chirovici
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   

January 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors
Author(s): E O Chirovici
Publisher: Random House AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon   

January 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors
Author(s): E O Chirovici
Publisher: Random House AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

February 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors: A Novel
Author(s): E O Chirovici
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

January 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Book of Mirrors
Author(s): E O Chirovici
Publisher: Cornerstone Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for