"An amazing achievement...A compulsively readable novel, so canny and weird and surfeited with the reality of human capacity and ingenuity that I am stymied for comparison. Dickens and David Lynch? Defoe meets Margaret Atwood? Judge for yourself." --Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked

The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud.


In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and . . . at the wax museum, heads are what they do.

In the tradition of Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Edward Carey's Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel--a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Don't miss this eccentric charmer." - Margaret Atwood

"Delightful, eccentric, heartfelt, surprising, philosophical." - Eleanor Catton

"'Little' is that rare thing – a unique novel with a unique and fully-realised voice, rich in deadpan wit and surgically precise observation. By turns tragic, bizarre and deeply moving Little introduces readers to a heroine like no other and a book that will truly last. It is an absolute delight." - A L Kennedy

"It's hard to imagine a better subject for Edward Carey's particular genius than the life of Madame Tussaud." - Charles Lambert

"The kind of book you want to shove into the hands of all your friends, just so you have someone to gush about it with." - Arianna Rebolini


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Edward Carey's Little

Hardback Editions

February 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Little (Thorndike Press Large Print Historical Fiction)
Author(s): Edward Carey
ISBN: 1-4328-5680-4 / 978-1-4328-5680-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Little: A Novel
Author(s): Edward Carey
ISBN: 0-525-53432-6 / 978-0-525-53432-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Little
Author(s): Edward Carey
ISBN: 1-910709-39-5 / 978-1-910709-39-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Aardvark Bureau
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Little
Author(s): Edward Carey
ISBN: 1-910709-53-0 / 978-1-910709-53-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Aardvark Bureau
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Little
Author(s): Edward Carey
ISBN: 1-910709-56-5 / 978-1-910709-56-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Aardvark Bureau
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Little: A Novel
Author(s): Edward Carey
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Little: A Novel
Author(s): Edward Carey
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Little: A Novel
Author(s): Edward Carey
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Little
Author(s): Edward Carey
Publisher: Aardvark Bureau
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU