book cover of The Burning Eye
Added by 4 of our members

The Burning Eye

(The first book in the War World series)
A novel by


War World: The Burning Eye is a reprint of the original Baen Books edition with six new stories and story introductions throughout. This volume (unlike the other Baen War World books, which focused on the Sauron period) covers almost the entirety of Haven's history going as far as the Second Empire of Man. This second edition of The Burning Eye will act as a survey volume of the entire War World series, ending with the crash landing of an Imperial space liner.

Born of rebellion and civil war, Haven is home to diverse races and nationalities. Discovered in the CoDominium era and originally settled by the Harmonies - a group of pacifists - Haven was soon thrown into turmoil when the CoDo Bureau of ReLocation dumped millions of Earth's worst criminals, fractious minorities, refugees, nationalists and the great unwashed upon her shores. Cut off from the rest of humanity after the Succession Wars, bombed-back to near Medievalism by the Saurons so that its inhabitants cannot reveal their presence to the rest of the galaxy, Haven is a world forever at war. In this, the first of the War World series, you are introduced to Haven and its inhabitants.

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors

Favour The Bold
(Empire's Corps, book 16)
Christopher G Nuttall

Used availability for John F Carr's The Burning Eye

Paperback Editions

July 1988 : USA Paperback

Title: The Burning Eye (Warworld, Book 1)
Author(s): Jerry Pournelle, John F Carr, Roland Green
ISBN: 0-671-65420-9 / 978-0-671-65420-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Baen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

January 1993 : Mass Market Paperback

Title: War World I: The Burning Eye
Author(s): Pournelle Jerry
ISBN: 5555534272 / 978-5555534279
Publisher: Baen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: War World: The Burning Eye
Author(s): John F Carr
Publisher: Pequod Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU