book cover of The Forbidden Promise
Added by 9 of our members

The Forbidden Promise

(2020)
A novel by

 
 

The stunning new story of love and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village

Can one promise change the fate of two women decades apart?

Scotland, 1940
 
War rages across Europe, but Invermoray House is at peace – until the night of Constance’s 21st birthday, when she’s the only person to see a Spitfire crash into the loch. Rescuing the pilot and vowing to keep him hidden, Constance finds herself torn between duty to her family and keeping a promise that could cost her everything.
 
2020
 
Kate arrives in the Highlands to turn Invermoray into a luxury B&B, only to find that the estate is more troubled than she’d imagined. But when Kate discovers the house has a dark history, with Constance’s name struck from its records, she knows she can’t leave until the mystery is solved . . .
 
A sweeping tale of love and secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley.

First readers love The Forbidden Promise . . .

‘Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist – everyone who loved The Forgotten Village will be sure to love this too’ Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky

‘Kept me turning the pages eagerly. A real treat!’ Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow

‘Entrancing . . . an evocative and romantic mystery’ Woman’s Weekly

‘A wonderfully romantic love story, full of twists and turns’ Nikola Scott, author of My Mother’s Shadow

‘A dual delight of love stories, with hugely likeable characters and a corker of a twist!’ Mandy Robotham, author of A Woman of War

‘A wonderful tale of forbidden love, full of cliffhangers that kept me reading late into the night. And it has a fabulous twist’ Kathleen McGurl, author of The Forgotten Secret

‘Nobody does cliffhangers like Lorna Cook does. I inhale everything she writes’ Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Praise for this book

"Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist, this is a brilliant tale – everyone who loved The Forgotten Village will be sure to love this too." - Jenny Ashcroft

"Beautifully written, it is both a captivating love story and a page-turning mystery filled with unexpected twists. I loved it." - Elisabeth Gifford

"An evocative Scottish setting that drew me in and two powerful love stories that swept me away." - Jenni Keer

"A wonderful tale of forbidden love, full of cliffhangers that kept me reading late into the night. And it has a fabulous twist." - Kathleen McGurl

"Kept me turning the pages eagerly through both storylines. A real treat!" - Tracy Rees

"Lorna Cook has created a dual delight of love stories in a beautiful setting, with hugely likeable characters – and a corker of a twist!" - Mandy Robotham

"A compelling family drama full of dark secrets, twists and turns and a wonderfully romantic love story." - Nikola Scott


Similar books by other authors

thumb
You're Not Safe
(Texas Rangers Trilogy, book 3)
Mary Burton

Used availability for Lorna Cook's The Forbidden Promise

Paperback Editions

March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise
Author(s): Lorna Cook
ISBN: 0-00-832188-4 / 978-0-00-832188-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise
Author(s): Lorna Cook
ISBN: 0-00-842009-2 / 978-0-00-842009-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins UK and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise
Author(s): Lorna Cook
ISBN: 0-00-842008-4 / 978-0-00-842008-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins UK and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   


March 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Forbidden Promise: A tale of secrets and romance, the latest historical fiction novel from the No.1 bestselling author of books like The Forgotten Village
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU