book cover of The Eight Mountains

The Eight Mountains

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
"A fine book, a rich, achingly painful story that is made for all of us who have ever felt a hunger for the mountains. Few books have so accurately described the way stony heights can define one's sense of joy and rightness. And it is an exquisite unfolding of the deep way humans may love one another." - Annie Proulx

For fans of Elena Ferrante and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their connection evolves and challenges them throughout their lives.

Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the mountains that surround Italy.

While on vacation at the foot of the Aosta Valley, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountains' meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life - Bruno's in the mountains, Pietro's across the world - test the strength and meaning of their connection.

A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. "There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti's writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story... a true novel by a great writer" (Rolling Stone Italia).

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"A fine book, a rich, achingly painful story that is made for all of us who have ever felt a hunger for the mountains. Few books have so accurately described the way stony heights can define one's sense of joy and rightness. And it is an exquisite unfolding of the deep way humans may love one another." - Annie Proulx


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Paolo Cognetti's The Eight Mountains

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
ISBN: 1-68324-842-2 / 978-1-68324-842-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains: A Novel
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
ISBN: 1-5011-6988-2 / 978-1-5011-6988-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
ISBN: 1-78470-706-6 / 978-1-78470-706-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains: A Novel
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
ISBN: 1-5011-6989-0 / 978-1-5011-6989-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
ISBN: 1-78730-014-5 / 978-1-78730-014-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harvill Secker
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
ISBN: 1-5011-9288-4 / 978-1-5011-9288-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: 37 Ink
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains: A Novel
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Eight Mountains: A Novel
Author(s): Paolo Cognetti
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon