book cover of Splinter in the Blood
Added by 21 of our members

Splinter in the Blood

(2018)
(The first book in the Carver and Lake series)
A novel by

 
 
“One of the boldest, most inventive serial-killer thrillers since The Silence of the Lambs. . . .  Perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver and Lisa Gardner.”— A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author 

A propulsive debut suspense novel, filled with secrets, nerve-jangling tension, perplexing mystery, and cold-blooded murder, in which a police officer on the hunt for a macabre serial killer is brutally attacked, and only his partner knows the truth about what happened—and who did it.

After months of hunting a ruthless murderer dubbed the Thorn Killer, Detective Greg Carver is shot in his own home. His trusted partner, Ruth Lake, is alone with him. Yet instead of calling for help, she rearranges the crime scene and wipes the room clean of prints.

But Carver isn’t dead.

Awakening in the hospital, Carver has no memory of being shot, but is certain that his assailant is the Thorn Killer. Though there’s no evidence to support his claim, Carver insists the attack is an attempt to scare the detective off the psychopath’s scent. Trapped in a hospital bed, Carver’s obsession grows. He’s desperate to get back to work and finally nail the bastard, before more innocent blood is spilled.

One person knows the truth and she’s not talking. She’s also now leading the Thorn Killer investigation while Carver recuperates. It doesn’t matter that more victims’ lives are at stake. Ruth is keeping a deadly secret, and she’ll cross every line to keep it from surfacing.



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A taut and compelling thriller, as sharp as the thorns that feature in the plot." - Ann Cleeves

"One of the boldest, most inventive serial-killer thrillers since The Silence of the Lambs...anchored by a protagonist as complicated as she is compelling." - A J Finn

"Compelling, clever. Packed with macabre and fascinating forensic details. A stunning debut." - Mo Hayder


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ashley Dyer's Splinter in the Blood

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood: A Novel (Carver and Lake)
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 0-06-279767-0 / 978-0-06-279767-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 1-4721-5101-1 / 978-1-4721-5101-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corsair
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood: A Novel
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 0-06-279768-9 / 978-0-06-279768-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 1-4721-5102-X / 978-1-4721-5102-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corsair
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood Lib/E (Carver and Lake Series, 1)
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 1-5385-5006-7 / 978-1-5385-5006-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood: A Novel (Carver and Lake Series, 1)
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 1-5385-5007-5 / 978-1-5385-5007-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood: A Novel (Carver and Lake Series, 1)
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 1-5385-5008-3 / 978-1-5385-5008-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood: A Novel
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood: A Novel
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Splinter In The Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 1-4450-7116-9 / 978-1-4450-7116-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Splinter In The Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
ISBN: 1-4450-7117-7 / 978-1-4450-7117-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood: A Novel (Carver and Lake)
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Splinter in the Blood
Author(s): Ashley Dyer
Publisher: Corsair
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU