book cover of Everyone Lies
Added by 15 of our members

Everyone Lies

(2013)
(The first book in the DI Kate Simms series)
A novel by

 
 
DI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have. She's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since. Professor Nick Fennimore is a failed genetics student, successful gambler, betting agent, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and one-time scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.

In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten and all identifying features removed. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate." - Ann Cleeves

"A throat-clutcher from page one. Everyone Lies is a pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics. A. D. Garrett has done for Manchester what The Wire did for Baltimore. And our central characters, Simms and Fennimore, are complex, compelling and just plain marvellous." - Jeffery Deaver

"Awesome...What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut." - Mo Hayder

"Brilliantly melds a deep knowledge of forensic procedures with a riveting story. The subtle twists in Everyone Lies kept me guessing until the end. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell are going to love this book!" - D J McIntosh


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Still Life
(Chief Inspector Gamache, book 1)
Louise Penny
thumb
The Coffin Trail
(Lake District Mystery, book 1)
Martin Edwards
thumb
The Long Call
(Two Rivers, book 1)
Ann Cleeves

Used availability for A D Garrett's Everyone Lies

Hardback Editions

July 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies
Author(s): A D Garrett
ISBN: 1-250-04572-X / 978-1-250-04572-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2013 : UK Hardback

Title: Everyone Lies
Author(s): A D Garrett
ISBN: 0-7531-9184-9 / 978-0-7531-9184-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2013 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies (DI Kate Simms)
Author(s): A D Garrett
ISBN: 1-78033-979-8 / 978-1-78033-979-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: C & R Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2014 : UK Paperback

Title: Everyone Lies
Author(s): A D Garrett
ISBN: 0-7531-9185-7 / 978-0-7531-9185-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2013 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(Everyone Lies * *)] [Author: A. D Garrett] published on (November, 2013)
Author(s): A D Garrett
Publisher: Constable Crime
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies (DI Kate Simms)
Author(s): A D Garrett
ISBN: 1-4721-0757-8 / 978-1-4721-0757-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: C & R Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies: DI Kate Simms, Book 1
Author(s): A D Garrett
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


November 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies: DI Kate Simms, Book 1
Author(s): A D Garrett
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies: DI Kate Simms, Book 1
Author(s): A D Garrett
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies
Author(s): A D Garrett
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2013 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Everyone Lies (DI Kate Simms Book 1)
Author(s): A D Garrett
Publisher: Corsair
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU