A J Finn's picture
Followed by 38 of our members

A J Finn


(Daniel Mallory)

A J Finn is the pseudonym of Daniel Mallory, currently a senior publishing executive at William Morrow/ HarperCollins. An Oxford graduate and former book critic, he lives in New York City. 

His debut novel, The Woman in the Window, is currently in development as a major motion picture at Fox.

Genres: Mystery
 
A J Finn recommends
thumb
The Chalk Man (2018)
C J Tudor
"Utterly Hypnotic. The Chalk Man is a dream novel, a book of nightmares: haunted and haunting, shot through with shadow and light - a story to quicken the pulse and freeze the blood. A dark star is born."
thumb
Bitter (2018)
Francesca Jakobi
"Bitter, yes, but also sweet -- and moving, and searching, and quietly devastating: a novel to detonate the heart. Steep yourself in this exquisite story. You won't regret it, and you won't forget it. Fans of Gail Honeyman and Joanna Cannon will love Bitter."
thumb
The Death of Mrs. Westaway (2018)
Ruth Ware
"The Death of Mrs Westaway is Ruth Ware's best: a dark and dramatic thriller, part murder mystery, part family drama, altogether riveting."
thumb
The Good Son (2018)
You-Jeong Jeong
"A cool, crafty did-he-do-it thriller buoyed by a rising tide of madness. Provocative yet profound, humming with mood and menace, The Good Son will rivet readers of Jo Nesbo and Patricia Highsmith."
thumb
Big Woods (2018)
May Cobb
"Stephen King's Stand by Me collides with Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects in this exceptional thriller. Gutsy, gripping - and pitch-perfect in its resurrection of an era long gone."
thumb
The Last Time I Lied (2018)
Riley Sager
"Breathtaking -- brightly written, scalpel-sharp, and altogether inspired. This swift, red-blooded thriller set my pulse thrumming."
thumb
A Noise Downstairs (2018)
Linwood Barclay
"Linwood Barclay’s novels – as intelligent as Michael Connelly’s, as compelling as Harlan Coben’s – never fail to astonish. A Noise Downstairs, his best work yet, is a cobra of a story: smooth, slippery, unnerving . . . and likely to strike when you least expect it. I devoured this book."
thumb
Sadie (2018)
Courtney Summers
"Sadie: a novel for readers of any age, and a character as indelible as a scar. Flat-out dazzling."
thumb
The Hunting Party (2018)
Lucy Foley
"A ripping, riveting murder mystery ? wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware."
thumb
The Chestnut Man (2019)
Søren Sveistrup
"A full-throttle thriller in the tradition of classic Stieg Larsson, drenched in atmosphere and charged with adrenaline. Buckle up. You'll gulp down every word. I loved this book."
thumb
The Woman Inside (2019)
E G Scott
"From its seize-you-by-throat opening to that jack-in-the-box finale, this slick, sleek thriller held me breathless. Psychological suspense at its brightest and boldest."
thumb
The Couple's Secret (2019)
B P Walter
"Devilishly well-plotted, crisply written...a smashing debut!."
thumb
The Silent Patient (2019)
Alex Michaelides
"The perfect thriller. This extraordinary novel set my blood fizzing - I quite literally couldn't put it down. I told myself I'd just dip in; eleven hours later - it's now 5.47 AM - I've finished it, absolutely dazzled."
thumb
The Wolf and the Watchman (2019)
Niklas Natt och Dag
"Brawny, bloody, intricate, enthralling-and the best historical thriller I've read in twenty years."
thumb
Courting Mr. Lincoln (2019)
Louis Bayard
"A miracle; an exquisite story exquisitely told If you love Jane Austen, or Hamilton, or fiction‒of any era‒that transports and transforms in equal measure, look no further."
thumb
The Night Before (2019)
Wendy Walker
"A dazzling hall-of-mirrors thriller."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors