A J Finn's picture
Followed by 97 of our members

A J Finn


(Daniel Mallory)

A J Finn is the pseudonym of Daniel Mallory, currently a senior publishing executive at William Morrow/ HarperCollins. An Oxford graduate and former book critic, he lives in New York City. 

His debut novel, The Woman in the Window, is currently in development as a major motion picture at Fox.

Genres: Mystery
 
A J Finn recommends
thumb
The Chalk Man (2018)
C J Tudor
"Utterly Hypnotic. The Chalk Man is a dream novel, a book of nightmares: haunted and haunting, shot through with shadow and light - a story to quicken the pulse and freeze the blood. A dark star is born."
thumb
Bitter (2018)
Francesca Jakobi
"Bitter, yes, but also sweet -- and moving, and searching, and quietly devastating: a novel to detonate the heart. Steep yourself in this exquisite story. You won't regret it, and you won't forget it. Fans of Gail Honeyman and Joanna Cannon will love Bitter."
thumb
The Death of Mrs. Westaway (2018)
Ruth Ware
"The Death of Mrs Westaway is Ruth Ware's best: a dark and dramatic thriller, part murder mystery, part family drama, altogether riveting."
thumb
The Good Son (2018)
You-Jeong Jeong
"A cool, crafty did-he-do-it thriller buoyed by a rising tide of madness. Provocative yet profound, humming with mood and menace, The Good Son will rivet readers of Jo Nesbo and Patricia Highsmith."
thumb
Big Woods (2018)
May Cobb
"Stephen King's Stand by Me collides with Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects in this exceptional thriller. Gutsy, gripping - and pitch-perfect in its resurrection of an era long gone."
thumb
Boy Swallows Universe (2018)
Trent Dalton
"Joyous. Simply joyous. I hugged myself as I read it. My heart raced, swelled, burst; my eyes leaked tears; my stomach ached from laughter. Boy Swallows Universe is--I can't think of a word more apt--magical. This vibrant, vital, altogether miraculous coming-of-age novel marks the debut of an exquisitely gifted storyteller. . . and what's more, it's transformative: After reading Trent Dalton's book, you won't be the same as you were before."
thumb
The Last Time I Lied (2018)
Riley Sager
"Breathtaking -- brightly written, scalpel-sharp, and altogether inspired. This swift, red-blooded thriller set my pulse thrumming."
thumb
A Noise Downstairs (2018)
Linwood Barclay
"Linwood Barclay’s novels – as intelligent as Michael Connelly’s, as compelling as Harlan Coben’s – never fail to astonish. A Noise Downstairs, his best work yet, is a cobra of a story: smooth, slippery, unnerving . . . and likely to strike when you least expect it. I devoured this book."
thumb
Sadie (2018)
Courtney Summers
"Sadie: a novel for readers of any age, and a character as indelible as a scar. Flat-out dazzling."
thumb
Call Me Evie (2018)
J P Pomare
"Literary suspense as dark and fresh as midnight in winter, with a merciless twist-of-the-knife finale. One of the most striking debuts I've read in years and years."
thumb
The Hunting Party (2018)
Lucy Foley
"A ripping, riveting murder mystery ? wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware."
thumb
The Chestnut Man (2019)
Søren Sveistrup
"A full-throttle thriller in the tradition of classic Stieg Larsson, drenched in atmosphere and charged with adrenaline. Buckle up. You'll gulp down every word. I loved this book."
thumb
The Woman Inside (2019)
E G Scott
"From its seize-you-by-throat opening to that jack-in-the-box finale, this slick, sleek thriller held me breathless. Psychological suspense at its brightest and boldest."
thumb
The Silent Patient (2019)
Alex Michaelides
"The perfect thriller. This extraordinary novel set my blood fizzing - I quite literally couldn't put it down. I told myself I'd just dip in; eleven hours later - it's now 5.47 AM - I've finished it, absolutely dazzled."
thumb
A Version of the Truth (2019)
B P Walter
"Devilishly well-plotted, crisply written...a smashing debut!."
thumb
The Wolf and the Watchman (2019)
Niklas Natt och Dag
"Brawny, bloody, intricate, enthralling-and the best historical thriller I've read in twenty years."
thumb
Courting Mr. Lincoln (2019)
Louis Bayard
"A miracle; an exquisite story exquisitely told If you love Jane Austen, or Hamilton, or fiction - of any era - that transports and transforms in equal measure, look no further."
thumb
The Night Before (2019)
Wendy Walker
"A dazzling hall-of-mirrors thriller: ferociously smart, furiously paced, and - best of all - honest-to-goodness surprising. All hail Wendy Walker."
thumb
Death in a Desert Land (2019)
(Agatha Christie, book 3)
Andrew Wilson
"Andrew Wilson's Christie novels do Dame Agatha proud."
thumb
The Reunion (2019)
Guillaume Musso
"Witty, elegant, and peopled with complex characters, it's one of the most sheerly suspenseful novels I've read in years -- and among the most enjoyable, too."
thumb
The Man in the White Linen Suit (2019)
(Stewart Hoag & Lulu Mysteries, book 11)
David Handler
"He's of my very favorites a novelist whose champagne-fizzy mysteries tickle the brain, heart and funny bone in equal measure."
thumb
The Other End of the Line (2019)
(Inspector Montalbano, book 24)
Andrea Camilleri
"Set in Sicily and starring a detective unlike any other...altogether transporting."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors