book cover of Midnight at the Houdini
Added by 3 members
 

Midnight at the Houdini

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
A girl discovers a surreal hotel where no one ever leaves. When the clock strikes midnight, she'll be trapped there forever unless she's able to break free from magic that in turn breaks all her rules. Perfect for fans of Caraval and The Starless Sea!

Life has gone according to plan for Anna—she stays in the background, letting her sister, Emily, shine in the spotlight. But on Emily’s wedding night, Anna learns that her sister is moving away, abandoning her—and all their shared dreams. Devastated, Anna leaves the reception in the middle of a raging storm, taking shelter in a hotel she’s never seen before: the Houdini.

The Houdini is a hotel unlike any other, with sumptuous velvet couches, marble tiled floors, secret restaurants, winding passageways, and an undercurrent of magic in the air. And when Anna meets Max, who has lived his entire life inside its walls, she’s captivated. For the first time in her life, Anna is center stage, in a place that anticipates her every desire, with a boy who only has eyes for her.

But there’s a terrifying secret hidden in the Houdini. When the clock strikes midnight, Anna will be trapped there forever unless she can find a way to break free from its dreamlike magic. But will she be able to do it if it means leaving Max behind?

Enchanting, mysterious, and utterly fantastic,
Midnight at the Houdini will cast its spell on you.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A dazzling adventure you don't want to miss. Midnight at the Houdini has magic, mystery, twists, and an enchanting world you'll want to get trapped in. I was bewitched from the first page - the story kept me guessing until the very end. Delilah S. Dawson's propulsive writing makes it impossible to put down." - Alex Aster

"Mesmerizing, magical, and utterly romantic. Dawson whisks away readers to a glittering, secret world populated by very real and lovingly crafted characters - including the Houdini itself. I absolutely enjoyed it!" - Jenn Bennett

"A decadent feast for the imagination that had me racing through the pages. Step into the Houdini but beware: this hotel will have you enthralled!" - Erin A Craig


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Delilah Dawson's Midnight at the Houdini


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors