book cover of The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair
Added by 25 of our members
 

The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair

(2014)
(The first book in the Marcus Goldman series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Barry Awards Best Paperback original (nominee)
Instant New York Times Bestseller

“Unimpeachably terrific.” —The New York Times Book Review

For fans of Ruth Ware, Shari Lapena, and Donna Tartt: a twisty, fast-paced, cinematic literary thriller, and an ingenious book within a book, by the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Enigma of Room 622

Marcus Goldman is riding high. The twenty-eight-year-old writer is the new darling of American letters, whose debut novel has sold two million copies. But when it comes time to produce a new book, he is sidelined by a crippling case of writer’s block. He travels to Somerset, New Hamprshire, to see his mentor, Harry Quebert, one of the country’s most respected writers, hoping to jar his creative juices as his publisher’s deadline looms. But Marcus’s plans are upended when Harry is sensationally implicated in a cold-case murder: Fifteen-year-old Nola Kellergan went missing in 1975, and Harry admits to having had an affair with her. Following a trail of clues through the backwoods and isolated beaches of New Hampshire, Marcus must answer two questions, which are mysteriously connected: Who killed Nola Kellergan? And how do you write a book to save someone’s life?

Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

Named a Best Book of the Summer by CBS This Morning, Us Weekly, The Hollywood Reporter, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Parade, Houston Chronicle, New York Post, Tampa Bay Times, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and The Daily Beast

Now a 10-part TV series on EPIX, starring Patrick Dempsey, Ben Schnetzer, Damon Wayans Jr., and Virginia Madsen

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Unimpeachably terrific . . . A playful, page-turning whodunit . . . If Norman Mailer had been accused of murder and Truman Capote had collaborated with Dominick Dunne on a tell-all about it, the result might have turned out something like this. Though I suspect this version may be funnier. . . . It's [Dicker's] light touch and engaging voice that make the writing so infectious, and will probably make it a best seller here as well." - Chelsea Cain

"A dazzling thriller--stunningly original and brilliantly plotted, down to the very last twists. It's a murder mystery, a literary puzzle, and a love story, all ingeniously woven into a masterly novel of suspense. Joel Dicker is an enormous talent, and this book is extraordinary." - Linda Fairstein

"I haven't had a suspense novel surprise me like this one in a long time. Joel Dicker is a bright new star of suspense, and he proves his serious chops with this utterly thrilling, delightfully twisted, continually shocking novel. I can't wait to read what he writes next!" - Lisa Gardner


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Joel Dicker's The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors