book cover of The Disasters
Added by 2 of our members

The Disasters

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
The Breakfast Club meets Guardians of the Galaxy in this YA sci-fi adventure by debut author M. K. England.

Hotshot pilot Nax Hall has a history of making poor life choices. So it's not exactly a surprise when he's kicked out of the elite Ellis Station Academy in less than 24 hours. But Nax's one-way trip back to Earth is cut short when a terrorist group attacks the Academy.

Nax and three other washouts escape - barely - but they're also the sole witnesses to the biggest crime in the history of space colonization. And the perfect scapegoats.

On the run, Nax and his fellow failures plan to pull off a dangerous heist to spread the truth. Because they may not be "Academy material", and they may not even get along, but they're the only ones left to step up and fight.

Full of high-stakes action, subversive humor, and underdogs becoming heroes, this YA sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Illuminae, Heart of Iron,or the cult-classic TV show Firefly and is also a riveting thrill ride that anyone - not just space nerds - can enjoy.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A clever, cosmic thrill ride packed with nonstop action and starring a motley crew that won me over from page one. Just too much fun!" - Mackenzi Lee

"A BLAST from start to finish! Absurd levels of fun, fantastic pacing, and lovable authentic characters bring this rollicking adventure to life. Looking for a book you can’t put down? Pick up The Disasters. Mission accomplished." - Katherine Locke

"Wildly entertaining and crackling with chemistry. Nax and his crew will crash land in your heart and leave you filled with laughter and hope." - Kerri Maniscalco

"An explosion of edge-of-your-seat twists and high-stakes danger that leaves you glued to the page and rooting for these lovable misfits. I wanted a snarky romp across the galaxy, and M.K. England delivered with the force of a supernova." - Ashley Poston


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Vanishing Stair
(Truly Devious, book 2)
Maureen Johnson
thumb
The Case for Jamie
(Charlotte Holmes, book 3)
Brittany Cavallaro

Used availability for M K England's The Disasters

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
ISBN: 0-06-265767-4 / 978-0-06-265767-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
ISBN: 0-06-265768-2 / 978-0-06-265768-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Disasters ()
Author(s): M K England
ISBN: 0-06-290981-9 / 978-0-06-290981-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
ISBN: 1-982641-74-6 / 978-1-982641-74-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
ISBN: 1-982641-75-4 / 978-1-982641-75-7
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
ISBN: 1-982641-76-2 / 978-1-982641-76-4
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Disasters
Author(s): M K England
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU