New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>

The Dress Thief

(2014)
A novel by

 
Awards
Rita Awards Best First Book (nominee)

"A truly accomplished and delicious debut novel."
Laurie Graham


Winner - Festival of Romantic Fiction's Best Historical Read and USA Today Bestselling author


A modern tale of desire and deception set in the world of 1930s Parisian haute couture - perfect for fans of The Perfume Collector or The Paris Wife.

Alix Gower has a dream: to join the ranks of Coco Chanel to become a designer in the high-stakes world of Parisian haute couture. But Alix also has a secret: she supports her family by stealing designs to create bootlegs for the foreign market. A hidden sketchbook and two minutes inside Hermes is all she needs to create a perfect replica, to be whisked off to production in New York.

Then Alix is given her big break - a chance to finally realize her dream in one of the most prominent Parisian fashion houses - but at the price of copying the breakthrough Spring Collection.

Knowing this could be her only opportunity, Alix accepts the arrangement. But when a mystery from her past resurfaces and a chance meeting has her falling into the arms of a handsome English war reporter, Alix learns that the slightest misstep - or misplaced trust - could be all it takes for her life to begin falling apart at the seams.


  • WINNER - 2014 Festival of Romantic Fiction's Best Historical Read.

  • WINNER - 2015 Public Book Awards.

  • Shortlisted - 2015 Romance Writers of America (RWA) RITA Awards.


What reviewers are saying about The Dress Thief...


'The Dress Thief goes way beyond a story of Parisian fashion. It is a story of mystery, romance, friendship and the everyday struggles of life. Right from the start this book will grip hold of you and draw you into Alix's story and it won't let you go till the very last page... ' That Thing She Reads

'A delicious treat of a novel. I loved the setting in 1930s Paris - a place of intrigue, exquisite silk frocks, and dangerous secrets. And I was utterly charmed by the story's delectable heroine, as she struggled to make her mark in this seductive but perilous world' Margaret Leroy

'A truly accomplished and delicious debut novel' Laurie Graham.

'A fascinating evocation of a great fashion house and the knife-edge the designers live on. Natalie Meg Evans is a born storyteller' Sara Craven

'A charming novel that totally transported me to the Paris fashion houses of the late 1930s.' Trip Fiction

'Rich in detail, this is a pacy and engaging read, full of cloak and dagger intrigue, beautiful clothes and romance' Sunday Mirror

'I loved this story, the way that Cora grows from a self centered young girl into a strong, independent woman who had me reading late into the night.' Books for Avid Readers

 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Perfume Collector
Kathleen Tessaro

Rare Objects
Kathleen Tessaro

A Memory of Violets
Hazel Gaynor

The Velvet Hours
Alyson Richman
 
Used availability for Natalie Meg Evans's The Dress Thief


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

January 2014 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Dress Thief
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
ISBN: 1-84866-588-1 / 978-1-84866-588-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2014 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Dress Thief
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
ISBN: 1-84866-711-6 / 978-1-84866-711-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   

Audio Editions

July 2014 : UK Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Dress Thief
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
ISBN: 1-4712-7084-X / 978-1-4712-7084-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Dress Thief
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   

June 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Dress Thief
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

June 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Dress Thief: A gripping novel of fashion, secrets and intrigue in 1930's Paris
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

May 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Dress Thief: one secret could destroy everything she holds dear...
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for