book cover of The Lost Ones
Added by 17 of our members

The Lost Ones

(2019)
A novel by

 
 

Some houses are NEVER at peace…

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD
SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS’ ASSOCIATION DEBUT CROWN

‘A gothic gem of intrigue and atmosphere’ HWA Debut Crown Judges

England, 1917
 
Reeling from the death of her fiancé, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick – but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella – sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs – and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick’s dark and terrible secrets – secrets the dead whisper from the other side…

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spellbinding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

Praise for The Lost Ones:

‘Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank’s unsettling first novel … reminiscent of other tales of the supernatural, but conveys its own frissons and shocks’
Sunday Times

‘With wonderful characters… This is a brilliantly gothic adventure – and the perfect winter page-turner’ Sunday Mirror

‘A spine-tingling debut from Anita Frank is part ghost story, part murder mystery, and the perfect chilling read as the nights turn colder and longer’ OK!

‘I loved it SO MUCH – so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps…’ Lisa Hall

‘If you liked The Woman in Black, you’ll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book’ Woman & Home

‘Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written’ Amanda Jennings

‘For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured’ Essie Fox

‘I’ve raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart’ Samantha King

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured." - Essie Fox

"I loved it SO MUCH – so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps…" - Lisa Hall

"My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I’ve raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart." - Samantha King


Used availability for Anita Frank's The Lost Ones

Hardback Editions

October 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones: The most captivating and haunting ghost story and debut historical fiction novel of 2020
Author(s): Anita Frank
ISBN: 0-00-834122-2 / 978-0-00-834122-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones: The most captivating and haunting ghost story and debut historical fiction novel of 2020
Author(s): Anita Frank
ISBN: 0-00-834123-0 / 978-0-00-834123-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones: Some Houses are Never at Peace
Author(s): Anita Frank
ISBN: 0-00-834121-4 / 978-0-00-834121-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones: The most captivating and haunting ghost story and debut historical fiction novel of 2020
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU