book cover of The Lost Ones
Added by 17 of our members

The Lost Ones

(2019)
A novel by

 
 

Some houses are never at peace.

England, 1917

Reeling from the death of her fiance, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side...

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spell-binding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

Praise for The Lost Ones

'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings

'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox

'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps... ' Lisa Hall

'If you liked A Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' WOMAN&HOME

'My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

'An assured debut novel combining two well-loved literary genres set in country houses: the haunted house and the Agatha Christie-style whodunnit. Anita Frank's fiendishly devised plot springs a succession of shocks and revelations that keep you gripped until the final page' Noel O'Reilly

Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured." - Essie Fox

"I loved it SO MUCH – so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps…" - Lisa Hall

"My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I’ve raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart." - Samantha King


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Anita Frank's The Lost Ones

Hardback Editions

October 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
ISBN: 0-00-834122-2 / 978-0-00-834122-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
ISBN: 0-00-834123-0 / 978-0-00-834123-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
ISBN: 0-00-834121-4 / 978-0-00-834121-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Ones: A captivating, haunting ghost story, perfect for winter reading!
Author(s): Anita Frank
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA